Dear Congressman and Senators…

Although I feel totally powerless to end the Palestinian invasion, what I could do today was share my views with my legislators. I hope they will listen…

Senator Amy Klobuchar
302 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
phone: 202-224-3244
fax: 202-228-2186

Senator Al Franken
309 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
(202) 224-5641 309 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
(202) 224-5641

Congressman Rick Nolan
2447 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
D.C. Office: (202) 225-6211
Fax: (202) 225-0699

Dear Senator Franken, Senator Klobuchar, and Congressman Nolan,

I am writing with a heavy heart because of the brutal oppression and slaughter of innocent Palestinian people by the Israeli government. I urge you to use your position as an elected official to do everything in your power to end this situation now. It is deeply distressing to realize that my tax dollars support the Israeli military to perpetrate these crimes against humanity. I ask that you introduce legislation to end all financial support for Israel immediately and impose the most stringent sanctions possible under international law. Although the U.S. is not blameless in the oppression, covert destabilization, and preemptive invasion of other sovereign nations, taking a strong stand on the Israeli invasion would certainly do more to improve our global image than sanctioning Russia for the situation in Ukraine.

As I write, I know that Palestinian homes, communities, hospitals, and businesses are being destroyed and innocent men, women, and children are being killed in an ethnic cleansing campaign. As an Ojibwe, this situation is a painful reminder of what my ancestors and other Indigenous peoples of the land you now govern experienced. Please keep this tragic history in mind and do what you can to end the needless suffering and death of Palestinian people.

Respectfully,

Dr. Carol A. Hand

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Social Justice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dear Congressman and Senators…

  1. I’ve signed a few petitions to the President to do the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dolphin says:

    Reblogged this on Dolphin and commented:
    I also object to my tax dollars supporting the Israeli military, allowing them to kill innocent people.

    Like

  3. Carol,
    Thank you for sharing a good example for others to follow. People can remember that public action in the U.S., Britain and worldwide prevented a bombing campaign on Syria last August. Your letter, combined with all the letters/emails of concern sent by Americans may be ignored. On the other hand, they may be considered and result in fewer deaths of innocents, or turn the tide and help end the violence altogether.

    Like

    • carolahand says:

      Thank you for your important comments, Jerry. I agree that it is important to share our views however we can – there is little chance of anything changing otherwise. And your observation that our concerns may be ignored is all too true. The one response I have received to my letter thus far is disappointing — it merely reiterates the party line of negotiating a “two-state solution” to ensure the “legitimate aspirations of the Palestinian people for a state of their own,” while “ensuring our ally Israel’s survival as a secure Jewish and democratic state.” There is no mention of the tragic slaughter, destruction, and oppression that are presently occurring in Palestine, only the statement that the legislator is “encouraged by Secretary of State Kerry’s ongoing efforts…” I am tempted to deconstruct the response word for word in a follow-up letter, although that would probably be politically unwise and counterproductive. One thing is certain. As you continue to point out on your blog, we need to keep advocating for peace, social justice, and authentic reconciliation.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

