The Price of Rebellion – Runo Lite: Blogging 101

Carol A. Hand

Although I’m not sorry I refused to learn how to type as a form of rebellion against gender stereotypes, it did cause me a lot of extra work in my early days. You know, the days before personal computers when papers were written by hand on lined paper and then typed on a manual typewriter. I remember the only way I could reorganize the flow of what I wrote was by cutting out each handwritten sentence and continuously rearranging them on my carpeted floor and then taping them together in long streams. I didn’t want to type first. It took too long and too much whiteout. I was grateful for the invention of erasable onionskin paper, but still, my work always looked like I corrected so many typos and over-ran the margins on the right side and the bottom of the page. I did, and then thinned the text and the edges of my paper with strenuous efforts to remove all the evidence. I am grateful for computers, but still fondly remember the feel of writing things in my curious blend of cursive and printing.

typewriiter

Photo Credit: Etsy Market

In response to today’s blogging 101 assignment to preview a variety of themes, I looked at elegant, frilly and flowered. I looked at serious and professional. As someone over 60, I have no need to appear elegant or frilly. I prefer simple, lightweight, and clean. So it made sense for me to stick with my original choice – Runo Lite, a theme that matched my inclinations and quirks. It’s not perfect. I don’t like the near invisibility of embedded links. I wonder if that’s why so few people click out to the sites I spend time to find and embed? I wonder if I can make them more visible by changing the color of the font for embedded text links? (I can’t wait to see if this works!) The other challenge has more to do with my confusion when dealing with technological aspects. Widgets! How many hours I have spent trying to add widgets and get them to show up in the “right” place! Perhaps it’s a function of my theme. Many of the other themes I tested for this exercise automatically moved the content of some of the widgets to the margins where I have tried for hours to place them.

Nonetheless, I decided to stay with Runo Lite despite these challenges. But then, I learned to live with margins that never looked the way I would have liked. It’s the content that matters, right? (I was never graded on my margins in school…)

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Price of Rebellion – Runo Lite: Blogging 101

  1. It’s interesting how those childhood decisions impact our lives. I learned how to type one summer when I was in my teens, on my mother’s advice. I didn’t really get good until my first year of college when I had a summer job typing tax forms. But, your post caused me to reflect, that maybe, if I had not had that typing crutch, I might have forced myself to go on and complete my bachelor’s degree in my twenties, and gone on and done further study. Instead, I spent over 20 years doing temporary and short-term office work, all the while saying I was pursuing to live a life as a writer and performing artist. But, it was a free time in my life, I still am trying to return. And don’t worry, widgets can be a pain no matter what theme you’re using. But, the technology does get better the more you use it. And this link did stand out more vividly.

    Like

    • carolahand says:

      Childhood decisions do impact our lives, Skywalker. As I read your story, I’m not sure you took the “wrong” path. You have gained so much wisdom and developed your creative talents on the way. You might not have been given the freedom to explore your talents in school. I know I didn’t have the freedom to do so.

      Yet it did help me develop a sense of humor to deal with the things I chose not to focus on. Another story came to mind when I wrote this post. My short stint as a receptionist was another humorous experience. Wouldn’t you know, my job required typing long strings of numbers on forms with 5 carbon copies attached to each form. Whiteout and erasure weren’t options. By the end of my day, my garbage can would be overflowing, but 20 of the 200 forms for the day were impeccably typed. Despite my inability to type, they kept me on long after the company could afford the expense of a receptionist – business was rapidly declining for reasons other than my typing. They kept me because I was so good with customers on the phone. I guess I also made them all feel more competent 🙂 .

      Liked by 1 person

  2. mandy says:

    Oh, do I remember the White Out! I loved to type. I left school before typing classes were offered, so I got a book to teach myself. I wanted to be a big, hot-shot secretary just so I could type. The first receptionist job I applied for entailed a typing test. They grabbed the paper from the typewriter as soon as the stopwatch chimed. I was red-faced when they showed me my score- 0! (I had all my fingers ONE key over.) After that I took a construction job. . . It appears we of a certain age all have our typing stories! Lol 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • carolahand says:

      Oh Mandy, this is such a funny story I can’t stop laughing! Thank you for sharing this. (I’m sure the pay was a lot better in construction!)

      Like

      • mandy says:

        My pay was criminal at best. I had to work for half the pay of the guys ($1 per hour) because “it’s no job for a girl.” I proved myself and got a 10cent raise which was great since Banquet Chicken Pot Pies were 10cents a piece- I filled my freezer with them. Awe the memories 🙂

        Like

  3. Here’s to content! 🙂 As a HS freshman we were required to take a typing course (I went to an all male HS). I regret not having continued practicing. It is now a laborious task.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I took a typing class in high school. It was one of the best skills I ever learned.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carolahand says:

      It’s heartening to know that you had the courage to cross gendered expectations, Robert – not an easy thing to do in many schools. I don’t know that I would have been able to take shop classes in high school – not that I was interested then. Those skills would be helpful now 🙂 . I’ve had to learn how to fix up my old houses through trial and error and I’m still unwilling to deal with electoral or plumbing issues on my own.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have always rebelled against margins, owing to my passion for saving paper and trees.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Silvia TIC says:

    Hi Carola, I had saved your last post to read when I have more time…curious about your adventure with blogging 101. I love your blog for its content and it’s usually the same with all the blogs I follow…I always have wondered what makes a blog “popular” (i.e. having many likes and comments), after all, we blog because we want to be read and we want interaction…we also blog as a way of journalim, both to report on something and express our thoughts and bias…
    I enjoyed this piece as it reminds me my own teen years. I tried to learn typing (as you did, in a typewriter, personal computers were non existent or rare), never learned well…my subsequent jobs were all based on my other skills, this was secondary…when PCs started to become common, I quickly jumped on the wagon and learned not only to use them, but to program and fix them…in my 30’s I even taught computer science and worked as ICT integration coordinator for three different schools…I implemented Linux to make access free to children who wouldn’t have access otherwise and founded a project called “open source, open minds”…however, with all this behind, jy blogs have not been successful: I’m still missing something…content, and the emotional connection you make with your readers is more important than all the technology in the world…just the fact that you have made me go through this memory journey and enjoy your reading so much says it all…and firget the widgets! 🙂

    Like

    • carolahand says:

      Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Sylvia. I love to hear about the experiences you share in your comments. And honestly, I love your blogs as well. I always learn so much from the depth and breadth of your posts. I’m not sure why more people haven’t discovered the wisdom and applied lessons you share, but I am grateful that I did 🙂

      Like

  7. mjh333 says:

    Well, said it’s always a tricky thing computers. I was bought up with them coming out in my early schooling days and I have grown up the transition from paper to screen. Being dyslexic I like this transition for it’s advantages but technology will always develop and if you don’t keep up you’ll get lost. The frustration when they don’t do what you want will never disappear thats modern life with a machine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

