Response to Today’s Daily Prompt – Truth Serum: Blogging 101

Carol A. Hand

Let me be honest – I’ll take the truth serum and risk being misunderstood. I don’t like daily prompts. I realize many people do and they often share exquisite essays, photos, and poems. For me, they’re a distraction. The stories I write about come from an urgency that won’t let me rest until they are written – the opposite of writer’s block. At times, this is extremely annoying. When I have tasks that need doing like now – a garden to harvest and a yard to get ready for winter – ignoring the pressure to write means I risk a lack of focus for the rest of the day.

It’s true that there are times when writing is difficult for me – the kind of writing that requires accurate details. I have two books in process that require that sort of attention right now. They’re on hold until I have time to immerse myself into the work it will take to interweave historical and contextual details into a storyteller’s voice.

No one made me sign up for blogging 101. It’s a choice I made, hence I am completing this assignment quickly so I can rush outside to get some work done on this cloudy, chilly, blustery day. I don’t mean to be dismissive of my compatriots in this adventure, but I need to care for the gardens that are my most pressing responsibility today, when the time is right.

truth serum

Photo Credit: Geek. com

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Response to Today’s Daily Prompt – Truth Serum: Blogging 101

  1. You fulfilled the prompt. You’re setting your priorities and a good example for all of us other bloggers. I must say, I love beginning my work day reading your posts. And as my Cousin Helen used to say, “You make my day.” Trust you had a productive gardening day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carolahand says:

      Thank you for understanding and affirming my decision, Skywalker. The morning weather forecast confirms that it was a wise way to spend yesterday – 30 degree temperatures and a possibility of snow are predicted by the weekend.

      I appreciate your kindness – you always make my days better, too!

      Like

  2. Joan Treppa says:

    I know what you mean! Looking forward to the time when the gardens are sleeping…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Not to be dismissive either, Carol, however I suspect that those who engage in/respond to Daily Prompts have far more time on their hands than I do. Of course, to each, their own. 🙂 Onward with your priorities.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carolahand says:

      Thank you for your thoughtful reply, Eric. It made me realize that I have neglected to tell you how much I enjoy your thought-provoking and helpful posts. (Writing in response to the daily challenges of blogging 101 gives me little time for anything else – if I allow it to do so.)

      Like

  4. I, too, feel this pressing drive to get outside. I used to find it quite mystifying until I learned that certain soil microbes have a direct antidepressant effect on human beings: http://www.gardeningknowhow.com/garden-how-to/soil-fertilizers/antidepressant-microbes-soil.htm

    Like

    • carolahand says:

      What a great article, Stuart! I’m so grateful to know that having one’s hands in the dirt really does make one feel at peace with the world – a scientifically validated fact! And today, as I watch the steady all-day rain that began before dawn, with a prediction of snow by the weekend, I have confirmation that it was a wise decision to spend yesterday outside…

      Like

Leave a Reply

