Sometimes Silly – Let’s Draw Pictures and Play: Blogging 101

Carol A. Hand

I share this with love for my granddaughter, Ava, in memory of the days we spent playing this summer. Although I most often post serious prose, and claim no talent as an artist or poet, I am willing to be silly on rainy days when we’re stuck inside.

It’s a dark rainy day,
So what can we do?

Let’s draw pictures and play,

Ahma 6

Photo Credit: Artist Ava, Coloring by Ahma – Summer 2014

I’ll draw one of you.

Ahma

Photo Credit: Artist Ava, Coloring by Ahma

And you’ll draw one of me,

Ahma 2

Photo Credit: Artist Ahma, Coloring by Ava

Then we’ll switch and we’ll color.
Oh no – who can that be?

Ahma 5

Photo Credit: A Shared Creation by Ava and Ahma

(In case you’re wondering, Ahma is the name my grandson gave me when he was first learning to speak – before he could pronounce “g” and “r”. It’s the name my grandchildren continue to use. )

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sometimes Silly – Let’s Draw Pictures and Play: Blogging 101

  1. ShirleyAnn says:

    Drawing pictures and playing with your granddaughter is a time of “building memories” for you and she. Important times these are…happy,silly,carefree and Wonderful! I look back with a happy heart to those days in my life and can still hear the laughter and see the smiles even after all these years.

    Like

  2. Don’t tell anyone but … I’ve been known to be the sparkly-pink poodle of a princess, I’ve sung ‘Soft Kitty’ for 45 minutes at nap time, and I’ve even jumped “like a frog” with my stepdaughter’s little girlie. She’s almost 7 now, and much too old and dignified for naps or frog-jumps (most of the time). But she did ask for another batch of home-made play dough a few days ago … pink, with peppermint scent. In another year, she’ll be past playing with it, no doubt. But will I? Maybe not. Thanks for another fine post, Carol. – Linda

    Like

    • carolahand says:

      Linda, I love to hear about this creative, playful side of your experiences. Thank you for sharing these 🙂

      (You’ll have to send me the recipe for pink peppermint play dough!)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kind words, Carol, as ever. I went rather overboard on play dough, but it’s a fun thing to do with little ones. The girlies and I had great fun deciding what colors and smells to try next. As a frugal-to-stingy person, I also liked it that we could have plenty of each color, without paying the outrageous prices for the cute little sets of pre-fab stuff.

        And I won’t even start on my discovery of craft foam … One of these days, I really must TRY to finally grow up. But … not just yet. – Linda

        Here’s the recipe I found for play dough. It’s very easy, lasts for several months, and is much softer and nicer to handle than the commercial stuff.

        Play Dough

        The secret ingredient here is cream of tartar. This recipe makes play dough that is not grainy like uncooked play dough and keeps for a long time.

        2 cups flour
        1/2 cup salt
        2 cups water
        2 tablespoons oil — mineral oil is preferable as it won’t turn rancid
        1/4 cup cream of tartar *
        various food colorings, flavorings as desired **

        Combine all ingredients in a 2 to 3-quart sauce pan, and combine well. Cook and stir over low to medium heat until play dough is completely formed and no longer sticky. As it cooks, the mixture will get very lumpy, but these will even out as the dough firms up. Allow it to cool slightly before storing in an air tight
        container or zip lock bag.

        * If you’re going to do more than one or two batches, you might look for cream of tartar by the pound somewhere.
        ** it’s hard to judge how much of these to add to get the shades and scents you want, just experiment–and remember the colors may change slightly with cooking. Regular food colorings work fine, but you need oil-based scents(such as scented oils for candle and soap-making, or food-grade oils like lemon or peppermint oil), not alcohol-based extracts, if the scent is to hold well and not get weird. I found little samples of soap-making scents for decent prices from a couple of places.

        Like

        • carolahand says:

          I love this, Linda :-). I’ll have to buy new supplies next time I go grocery shopping and experiment! Thank you so much for the recipe and your delightful comments.

          Like

  3. Saana says:

    I love your post and especially the lovely pictures! Really made me smile! 🙂

    Like

  4. mandy says:

    Love love love this! Little Ava is so lucky to have such a wonderful Ahma! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

