Well Met

Carol A. Hand

Oh little child how will you survive?
You were born with a light in your heart that shone from your eyes.
Ancestors will walk with you to keep you alive.

me 1

With a gift to see beauty in others,
Feel their fears and their pain, you’ll carry a burden words cannot name –
An inheritance from your Ojibwe great grandmothers.

me 4

Born in age with rules already in place
To exploit and control, to oppress and enslave, to extinguish hope
That we could all live lives of grace.

me 2

You lived many places but could never fit in.
Your attempts to escape from the burden and grief were all wasted time
The ancestors spoke – it’s past time to begin.

me 3

They walked beside you and guided the way
As you fumbled and struggled to live with courage and kindness and honor your path.
But it’s changed now with age, it’s a new day.

me 5

You’ve earned time to retreat
To the world of your thoughts, to be guided by dreams sent from the wise ones. Have patience and trust
When people can hear you, you’ll meet.

Note: The greeting well met “is an expression of welcome, and means no more than the modern good to see you. Shakespeare used it for example in As you like it…”

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Well Met

  1. cindy knoke says:

    Your faith is so beautiful and inspiring. I love your ancestors and you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. keaneonlife says:

    Beautiful Carol. And so sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nicciattfield says:

    That’s really beautiful, Carol. A story of living true to who you must be, no matter what, and having the courage to follow the heart path. Now, you share your wisdom, and I am grateful for that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful! I always bring something with me when visiting your blog. Thanks.
    PS. The blog’s new visual identity is really gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carolahand says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Lucile. I feel the same way about your blog. The lovely photo you posted of the young woman in India continues to make me think about issues. The photo conveys a lovely and deeply moving story and leaves me wondering if she will be able to realize her dreams.

      Liked by 2 people

      • You’re most welcome, Carol. Thanks for being so kind.
        I agree that this picture triggers many reflections; it was taken in 2005 and I never forgot it. It was heartbreaking to see the way she lived. I reckon that my perception is biased from my own references, as she wasn’t as unhappy as I was with her life. Still, it saddened me to see those people living in extreme poverty in this century. I am afraid she will not realize her dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks Carol for your authenticity and honesty and also your courage to be true to yourself and your ancestors.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Reminds me of a poem composed by an anonymous native American child around 45 years ago – as I recall Johnny Carson read it on the Tonight Show:

    “Grandfather sings and I dance
    Grandfather speaks and I listen.
    When I sing, who will dance?
    When I speak, who will listen?

    Grandfather dies and I cry.
    Grandfather’s buried and I miss him.
    When I die, who will cry?
    When I’m buried, who will miss me?”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jeff Nguyen says:

    “You lived many places but could never fit in.
    Your attempts to escape from the burden and grief were all wasted time
    The ancestors spoke – it’s past time to begin.”…I can so relate to this verse. I spent much of my younger life running from my burden, my grief and most of all…myself. Someone must have been looking out for me because I shouldn’t be here.

    From the very time I came across your writings at Intersistere, I knew I was onto something special. I’m sure the ancestors are proud, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carolahand says:

      I appreciate your kind and thoughtful comment, Jeff. You are among the people who inspired me to write this. I can see the burden you have carried (and still do) in your poetry and prose, and the beauty of your spirit as you continue to work for social justice despite the darkness of these times. I am honored to count you among my friends.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Robbie says:

    “With a gift to see beauty in others,
    Feel their fears and their pain, you’ll carry a burden words cannot name”
    You have such a gift for words that help us all see the beautify in others:-)
    You are a beautiful soul…I need to stop by more often to read more posts of
    “real” people just like the “velveteen rabbit” and old “skin horse”:-)

    “The Skin Horse had lived longer in the nursery than any of the others.
    He was so old that his brown coat was bald in patches and showed the
    seams underneath, and most of the hairs in his tail had been pulled
    out to string bead necklaces. He was wise, for he had seen a long
    succession of mechanical toys arrive to boast and swagger, and
    by-and-by break their mainsprings and pass away, and he knew that they
    were only toys, and would never turn into anything else. For nursery
    magic is very strange and wonderful, and only those playthings that
    are old and wise and experienced like the Skin Horse understand all
    about it.

    “What is REAL?” asked the Rabbit one day, when they were lying side by
    side near the nursery fender, before Nana came to tidy the room. “Does
    it mean having things that buzz inside you and a stick-out handle?”

    “Real isn’t how you are made,” said the Skin Horse. “It’s a thing that
    happens to you. When a child loves you for a long, long time, not just
    to play with, but REALLY loves you, then you become Real.”

    “Does it hurt?” asked the Rabbit.

    “Sometimes,” said the Skin Horse, for he was always truthful. “When
    you are Real you don’t mind being hurt.”

    Carol …to be real is something not everyone achieves…you have!:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • carolahand says:

      Robbie, thank you so much for your kindness, and for sharing the excerpt from The Velveteen Rabbit. The Skin Horse is one of my all time favorite characters. There are days when I certainly feel “so old that .. [my] brown coat was bald in patches and showed the seams underneath…” Like you, I love the wisdom he shares about what it takes to become “real.” The beauty of your stories, photos, and urban gardens was among the inspirations for this post. I would add that only one who is inspired by inner beauty is able to see it in others. Your inner beauty shines through in your stories and comments to others.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Robbie says:

        I miss visiting your blog:-)…need to come inside and read again! being beautiful on the inside is the best:-) the other goes south-lol

        Liked by 1 person

        • carolahand says:

          I miss reading your blog as well – I am always deeply touched by your beautiful photos, wise words about gardens, and the lovely conversations you share with your friends 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • Robbie says:

          🙂 I am realizing lately that it is not so much “about” what our blog identity “is”…it is about our spirits:-) it is ” what” we are saying…we have a common core that is sometimes not visible to the human eye…our words + photos capture something that we all feel..it connects us all..+ that is what I enjoy about blogging over the cyber fence…we live all over the world but some how we have a spirit that connects us + when we find each other… we are loyal + truthful which is hard to find today:-)

          Liked by 1 person

        • carolahand says:

          These are such important insights, Robbie. I remember laughing to myself as I remembered that it was Bush (Senior, I think) who referred to a “thousand points of light” as a way to cut social welfare programs and replace them with charity organizations. But honestly, that is often how envision the connections to the many good-hearted, incredibly talented people I have met through blogging. I agree that people’s work shows who they really are, and it is a gift to be able to experience “a spirit that connects us.”

          Liked by 1 person

  9. Robbie says:

    shoot..we are just a bunch of skin horses in different places:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: I Wonder if You See How Beautiful you Are? | Voices from the Margins

Leave a Reply

