Honoring A Promise

Carol A. Hand

Yesterday as I was working on my many morning chores, my granddaughter, Ava, was quietly engaged writing a story and drawing. When she was done, she asked me to listen to her story and showed me the artwork that had inspired her to write. “I don’t share my stories with anyone except my teacher, my Mom, and you, Ahma.” I thanked her for sharing her lovely story and asked if she would like me to share it, along with the picture she drew. She was excited. She told me she wrote the story for her Mom because her Mom is special. I promised her I would share her story and let everyone know she wrote it because she loves her Mom.

So we used my digital camera to take a photo of her picture and I typed out her story. She couldn’t wait to share them when her mother came in the afternoon to take her home.

Blue Queen

Photo Credit: Artist – Ava Hand-Johnson

The Blue Queen

by Ava Hand-Johnson

Once upon a time there was a girl. She lived in the jungle. She loved blue. She lived with a blue cat. She was a Queen. She really, really, really, really liked blue. She lived in a cave.

Please help me congratulate a new artist on her first published work.

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Honoring A Promise

  1. nicciattfield says:

    Congratulations, Ava, on your first published story, and your lovely artwork. I hope you carry on sharing what you love, and the work that comes from your heart. Warm wishes to you, little one, Nicci

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ava, what a lovely present for your Mum! The Queen looks very very happy. Is that because she is surrounded by her favourite colour and her friend the cat?
    I bet your Mum was happy too when you gave her her present.
    Thanks for sharing your story and picture with us. Maybe you could share another one one day!
    Ashley Lily. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. desilef says:

    Ava, reading your story made me wish I had a blue cat! What wonderful work you created. Thank you — and thank you, too, to your Ahma for sharing it with the world!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ShirleyAnn says:

    Ava, Thank You for sharing your special picture and story with all of us. It is such a happy story and I love the blue cat. I have a blue bear and he makes me smile just like your picture does.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jeff Nguyen says:

    That was a beautifully told story and artwork. My cat is black, I envy your blue cat. May this be the first of many stories and pictures. Well done, Ava!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. keaneonlife says:

    Ava, well done! This is a beautiful picture and your story is well written and very pleasant to read. Keep it up! Perhaps it’s time for your Ahma to get you a journal so you can have a place to keep all your pictures and stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. toritto says:

    Nicely done Ava! I love blue! And cats! Keep writing!

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ava, I really, really love blue and love telling stories. Please share more with us. And thank your Ahma for publishing your work on the world wide web.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Robbie says:

    Ava:-) I love your story! Your picture makes me want to live in a jungle cave with a blue cat + be a queen! You are so lucky to have your Ahma + Mother to share your adventures. Keep on drawing and writing:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Joan Treppa says:

    Thank you Ava for being a shining star for all of us. My favorite color has always been blue and you’ve described for me a wonderful place filled with love and adventure that I’d love to visit. Thank you for sharing your hopes and dreams and always remember that you have the gift of creativity and a beautiful heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love your story too Ava and the sky today is really blue here in the UK so to have a cat that colour would be wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. An enchanting story, indeed. I very much look forward to the sequel.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. mytiturk says:

    Blue is the colour of our Mother, Earth, when people see it from the sky. It is a very special colour, Ava. Special like you, your mom and Ahma.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Congratulations, Miss Ava! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. The author’s main message is found when reading the Queen’s direct quotes focused on her fondness for the color blue. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Reminds me of my three year old daughter announcing to friends who came to play: “If you fill in the whole page, my mom will put it on the wall.”

    I never set that condition. She seems to have deduced it.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. goroyboy says:

    Blue is the Best 🙂 nice Job Ava

    Liked by 1 person

  18. mandy says:

    Dear Ava, I love your picture and your story! I have never seen a blue cat, but I would like to. I had horses when I was young, and believe it or not, I had a blue horse! Actually, he was black. But he was SO black that when the sun shone on him, the color blue bounced off him! I hope you’ll keep drawing pictures and writing stories for us. It was so much fun. Thank you! Mandy

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Debra says:

    Brava on your first publication. Love the art work — especially the BLUE cat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

