Giving Thanks

Carol A. Hand

In recent times, there are many moments of everyday when I am reminded of all there is to grieve in the world – deliberate cruelty, environmental destruction, disease and war, and continued oppression that will cause death and suffering for generations yet to come. I know it has been thus throughout history. Yet as an elder, at this moment, I chose to celebrate the beauty and wonder of life. Today, at this moment, I choose to share images and words of gratitude for that which makes life worth living.

The Delight Song of Tsoai-Talee
(by N. Scott Momaday)

I am a feather in the bright sky.
I am the blue horse that runs in the plain.
I am the fish that rolls, shining, in the water.
I am the shadow that follows a child.
I am the evening light, the lustre of the meadows.
I am an eagle playing with the wind.
I am a cluster of bright beads.
I am the farthest star.
I am the cold of the dawn.
I am the roaring of the rain.
I am the glitter on the crust of the snow.
I am the long track of the moon in a lake.
I am a flame of four colors.
I am a deer standing way in the dusk.
I am a field of sumac and the poome blanche.
I am an angle of geese upon the winter sky.
I am the hunger of a young wolf.
I am the whole dream of these things.

You see, I am alive, I am alive.
I stand in good relation to the earth.
I stand in good relation to the gods.
I stand in good relation to all that is beautiful.
I stand in good relation to the daughter of Tsen-tainte.
 You see, I am alive, I am alive.

tree of peace images

Photo Credit: The Great Tree of Peace

I send my sincere wish for all my relations. May we live in peace with each other and in balance with the earth we all share.

Work Cited:

N. Scott Momaday (1998). The Delight Song of Tsoai-Talee. In B. Bigelow & Bob Peterson (Eds.), Rethinking Columbus: The next 500 years (p. 72). Milwaukee, WI: Rethinking Schools.

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

36 thoughts on “Giving Thanks”

  1. Carol – This is absolutely beautiful. I cannot imagine another reading more befitting an offering at the Thanksgiving table. This year, as I celebrate with my children and grandchildren, we will be reminded through this that we ARE alive…and this life is indeed worth living, for it is from the heart of us that we will support the shift to loving consciousness. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a really moving poem that reminds us of our shared humanity and connection to the natural world that sustains us all. Despite the seemingly never ending cruelty, oppression and suffering, we are alive and still standing. Thank you for sharing this, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I AM alive, I AM alive!!! And the beautiful video..wow. It helped me remember that a few years ago, my brother Robert was able to follow the Monarch migration into Mexico. When describing it he became quite emotional and said that words failed him in trying to describe the beauty of all those millions and millions of Monarchs. Yes, I AM alive and most days that is enough to be Thankful for!

    Like

  4. oh my…that was beautiful:-) As I read the poem, I could feel and see each of the things that were spoken…to us that spend time in nature..that poem was alive:-)
    I needed to read this today-thank you for posting this-perfect start to my week!!!!

    Like

  5. The same thing happens to me when I read Momaday’s poem, Robbie – the images he paints with words do come alive and take me back to other times – “I am an angle of geese upon the winter sky.” There is so much beauty, peace and joy in these words and images. Thank you for sharing your lovely thoughts. ❤

    Like

  6. This is such a moving poem. Ad I do appreciate your comment “I chose to celebrate the beauty and wonder of life. Today, at this moment, I choose to share images and words of gratitude for that which makes life worth living. ” It’s so easy to forget the the good that does exist, even in the midst of the constant negatives bombarding us. These words, and the poem, help to re-center us.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your lovely comments, Shery. I love Momaday’s poem and the images that come alive as I read his words. And I’m truly grateful for people like Momaday and gifted friends like you in the blogging community who help me re-center when I feel overwhelmed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

