Shifting Perspectives

Carol A. Hand

My view of the world sometimes shifts from moment to moment, or from day to day. And some days it’s hard to find the words to describe the meaning of these changing perspectives. One moment, I see the darkness of our times and the institutions that continue to provide a measure of comfort to some but also serve to oppress or threaten the health of others.

DSC00523

Photo Credit: The View from My Window – November 11, 2014

With just a small shift, the threat and darkness are momentarily transformed by the sun breaking through the clouds.

DSC00444

Photo Credit: The View from My Yard: September 8, 2014

And other times, if I change the focus of my gaze, I am reminded of the gifts and responsibilities that come from loving others.

DSC00524

Photo Credit: Pinto Sitting in a Favorite Place – November 11, 2014

“All change is a miracle to contemplate; but it is a miracle which is taking place every second.” (Henry David Thoreau)

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shifting Perspectives

  1. Silvia TIC says:

    Thank you Carol…

    Like

    • carolahand says:

      Thank you! I was contemplating these images this morning just before I read your post, Sylvia. Reading your post inspired to me to share my reflections based on our recent dialogue. Sometimes images portray things I don’t have the words to express yet – and even when I do think I have the words, I often feel it’s best to allow others to discover their own meanings.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Instead of shifting from day-to-day or moment-to-moment, my perspective of the world has – unfortunately – been consistently becoming more negative with time. As a child, I witnessed the everyday maladies of a dysfunction family. I held hope that the larger society was not so afflicted. This positive aspiration carried me into adulthood and allowed me to have a reasonably enjoyable life.

    Now that I’m older and more experienced, I realize my hopeful aspirations that served me so well were fundamentally wrong in one crucial aspect. While it’s true that people are quite capable of altruism, and in fact many conduct themselves accordingly, that’s not how human societies are governed. Social organization and governance reflect the opposite emotions: greed, megalomania, and – in many cases – outright malice toward others. Why? Because few altruistically-minded people seek positions of authority. Administrative power – whether it resides in government, business, religion, or other social institutions – is determinative in the moral and ethical qualities of human civilization.

    This is a fine post, and I apologize for my cynical commentary.

    Like

    • carolahand says:

      Thank you for sharing your experiences and shifting perspectives, Robert. In many ways, our childhoods were similar. And despite my initially hopeful perspectives, I too have found that social institutions are fatally flawed because of the unquestioned values upon which they’re based – individualism, status hierarchies, competition, winners and losers – the list could go on. But contrary to the Citizens United decision, I don’t see institutions (corporations) as people. When I meet ordinary people, or get to know bloggers through their work, I find a wellspring of hope. Yes, at any given moment I may feel immobilized by sadness and despair, but I’ve learned to be patient and do the small things I can to support those who raise awareness through their actions. People (albeit only some) rekindle my sense of hope.

      I’m grateful that you felt that this was a safe place to share your perspective honestly, Robert. Chi miigwetch 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

