Just Be Who You Are

Carol A. Hand

Today, I just want to share one of my favorite songs. I wish I could find a free recording to share, or record my own version, but alas, I can’t. What I love most about the song, though, are the lyrics. I hope they touch your heart as they do mine.

chickadee w

Photo Credit: Black-Capped Chickadee

Little Chickadee
(by Cheryl Dawdy)

She is only a little chickadee
Just a common backyard bird
And she knows no care or worry
She is happy in this world

Just a simple little chickadee
With a simple song to sing
She’s not a peacock or a toucan
Not some fancy colored thing

But she can fly
She can fly
Anywhere she’d care to roam
And call anywhere her home

Then I said, “Tell me, little chickadee
Don’t you wish sometimes to be
Someone bigger, someone more beautiful?”
And this is what she said to me

“If I were bigger or more beautiful
If I had fancy colored wings
It would not make me someone better
‘Cause these are not important things

‘Cause I can fly
I can fly
Anywhere I care to roam
And call anywhere my home”

Now she is only a little chickadee
Not the boldest bird to see
But she knows that she’s most fortunate
There’s no one else she’d rather be

‘Cause she can fly
She can fly
Anywhere she’d care to roam
And call anywhere her home

She is only a little Chickadee

 Recorded by The Chenille Sisters on their album, Teaching Hippopotami to Fly

chickadee flying

Photo Credit: Chickadee Flying

If you’re lucky, as I was when I first heard Little Chickadee on a children’s radio show, here’s a link to the show

If you’re able to connect to the show, whatever you hear may touch your heart, surprise you with people’s creativity, or make you laugh.

May you all have a wonderful day ❤

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Just Be Who You Are

  1. schuttzie says:

    What a lovely song with great lyrics! Just be who we are and what we were made to be 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joan Treppa says:

    Lovely. A wise message for us all…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. susanissima says:

    Thank you for sending forth this important message in a delightful package. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. larryjben says:

    nice message here. thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wise and beautiful! Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Lucile, thank you 🙂

    Like

  7. Aquileana says:

    Certainly beautiful. Thanks for sharing Carol… All my best wishes to you!~ Aquileana 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Chickadees are very special – one of the few bird species that agrees to be hand fed by human beings. I, my daughter and now her husband hand feed chickadees whenever we get the opportunity. The design for their wedding invitations last year included a pair of chickadees and that was the icon they used on their wedding cake.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. But therein lie the crux of the problem, “Just Be Who You Are” when most haven’t a clue what they are . . . But what am I doing, ruining a wonderful and joyfully inspirational poem with philosophical mumbo jumbo, when I should be thanking Carol for the joyous moment she shared?

    Thank you, Carol, loved the poem.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Peter, I am grateful for your honesty and the reminder that lovely words alone can’t transform those who need to control, consume and destroy. But beautiful words help feed our spirits and provide a reason to keep doing what we can to make things better …

      Liked by 2 people

  10. LadyPinkRose says:

    Beautiful reminder to be who we are. Thank you. Love, Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  11. WeaverGrace says:

    I can feel the emotion in the words, “I can fly”. At one point in my life, I saw myself as a bird locked in a cage, looking for a way out, with no door or window in sight. This song brought back the feeling of joy that I have, now that I’m flying free.

    I am familiar with Black-Capped Chickadees. They are common here year round. You gave me a new appreciation for them.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. vellissima says:

    Thank for the lovely post. I really identify with that song. Perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Just Be Who You Are | A Bird with Wings

Leave a Reply

