Horses and the ABC’s

Carol A. Hand

How I wish I had seen the movie, The Horse Whisperer, before I met Amos! Unlike Sara, I didn’t grow up on a farm surrounded by horses and hogs. I didn’t ride until I was in high school and it was an experience I haven’t been eager to repeat. I honestly can’t remember exactly why I agreed to go riding with classmates on a field trip to a national forest. But here I was, a tiny teenager assigned to Amos, the smallest horse of the group that we would ride along the forest trails. Amos and I were to be first in line behind our guide because Amos had a problem – he bit other horses.

Even though Amos was small compared to the others, he was big and intimidating from my frame of reference, and I’m certain he could sense my fear. But I climbed on his back and off we all went. Things were fine for the first few minutes until we came to a small pond. Amos decided he was going for a drink and left the line to wade into the pond and have a sip. And there he stayed. The guide told me to pull on his reins and gently kick his sides. I did and Amos sat. And sat. And sat. He wouldn’t budge. And the rest of the group gave up on us and rode away! And Amos sat. Finally, a boy scout who was hiking through the forest saw our predicament and took pity on us. He waded into the pond, reached up and took Amos’s reins in his hand, and led us out. I was so grateful. I have no idea how long Amos would have remained otherwise.

When we reached the shore, Amos immediately took off at a gallop to catch up to the rest of the horses, with me clinging tightly to the horn on the western saddle. I’m sure it was a funny sight! (It still makes me laugh when I think of it.) We did catch up and I learned why he was originally first in line. As he passed the other horses, he bit each one in turn as he assumed the lead position again. We made it to the end of our trail with no more stops, but I wasn’t eager to repeat this experience.

It took a special incentive. I didn’t ride again until I was faced with the Physical Education requirement for college. (I stopped playing competitive sports when I was in seventh grade – after being deliberated clubbed in the head by someone on the competing team during a field hockey game. I guess I stole the hockey ball one too many times and outran the other team toward the goal. For me, it wasn’t about beating others. It was about challenging myself.) The other options for PE, modern dance and bowling, were also rather funny. Too uncoordinated to dance, and with wrists that were too small to remain unsprained with the weight of even the lightest bowling ball, the only other choice was horseback riding. It’s when I met Buster.

Like Amos, Buster wanted to be the boss. He was also a biter, yet we did fine on the days when we rode in the indoor arena. But the days on the trail were a different story. Buster was a master at trying to dislodge me from his back, and this time, I was using and English saddle without a horn to cling too. I only had my legs to wrap ever-more tightly about his middle. He could “trip” with his front foot, lurching forward – causing me to lose my balance, and he would rub against tree trucks to try to force me off his back. Yet we both survived the ordeal. While my peers learned to jump, I was content to know that I could simply pass my semesters by staying in the saddle.

It would be decades before I would climb on another horse. And this time I have photos to illustrate my daughter’s amusement as she witnessed my lack of skill riding horses. We were in Maui in September of 1998. My daughter, Jnana, is far more courageous and adventurous than I. Bicycling down the steep winding road that encircled Haleakalā, the volcano in the center, was not my idea of fun. Instead, we compromised and decided to go horseback riding midway up the mountainous heights. I’m embarrassed to admit I only remember the name of my daughter’s horse, Brandy. My horse’s name began with a “C.” It could have been named Calypso (like Sara’s horse, whose story brought back these memories).

horse 2

We arrived at the riding center mid-morning, after the mountain mists had lifted. Our horses were saddled and waiting. Mine, Ms. C, appeared to be dozing, eyes closed with her head resting peacefully on the split-rail fence. Our guide was of Portuguese ancestry. He told us a little bit about the history of ranching in Maui and the paniolo – the “ new breed of Hawaiian cowboy” that emerged on the ranches that dotted the slopes of Haleakalā.

horse 3

I must admit I was nervous as Ms. C walked the narrow rocky ridges, or even down gentle rocky slopes. But it was a lovely way to explore and learn about another land and other histories and cultures. I’m grateful my daughter and I shared this adventure, although I haven’t ridden a horse since that time. I doubt that I will again, even though Ms. C was gentle and sure-footed, a welcome change from Amos and Buster.

horse 1

horse 4

 

 

 

 

 

Photo Credits: Haleakalā, Maui – 1998

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Horses and the ABC’s

  1. nicciattfield says:

    I loved the Horse Whisperer! A little scared of horses though. Thanks for sharing these memories with us, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mandy smith says:

    What wonderful blasts from the past, Carol! I grew up with horses and rode a number like Amos. I was waiting for you to say that after deciding he was finished with the pond he high-tailed it back home–that’s often what horses do. It’s quite terrifying the first time it happens–but they sometimes have minds that can’t be changed. It’s wonderful you have adventures to look back on with your daughter, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your experiences, Mandy, and for your thoughtful comments.

      I’m glad Amos followed the rest (although I wish it had be more slowly) – perhaps it was something he was trained to do – or maybe it was just on his way home 🙂

      (Yes, it was a special gift to spend this time with my daughter – but she couldn’t remember Ms. C’s name either…)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pat says:

    Good read, Carol, and thanks! I admit I don’t know anything about riding stable etiquette, but don’t you think that it was odd that the guide just left you there in the pond with Amos?? Also, no one else has said this yet, but someone has to–Happy trails!
    ~pat

    Liked by 1 person

    • Funny, Pat! Thanks for the blessing 🙂

      (Yes, I thought is was quite astounding that the guide just left me in the middle of the pond! Yet in my many years of work, I’ve witnessed similar behaviors by those in positions of power with responsibilities for assuring others’ welfare. I guess it’s just easier than getting one’s feet wet…)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ShirleyAnn says:

    Your memories brought a smile to my face. There was a time in my youth when I could not imagine spending my life without a horse and now that I am older…I can’t stand the smell of ’em, let alone the idea of being seated on one..knowing that when I attempted to get off that beast my inner thighs would ache for weeks and my poor hips..well ….no horse back riding for me!! I did read the book “Horse whisperer” and loved it and wished that he could have come to spend time with my grandfather with whom he shared similar traits. Carol, I too have ridden Amos and Buster and the horse whose name started with “C”…some real adventures! My Amos rode right over the top of another youngster who was riding a bicycle and refused to move out of my path…he stopped when he was directly over the boy and bike and just stood there looking down at them. I didn’t know if I should laugh or cry cuz I had shouted for him to move because my horse was not going to stop.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

