Someday Soon the Sun Will Come

Carol A. Hand

There are mornings like today
When the promise of spring seems months away
When the snow falls again and the sky is grey.

DSC00667

Photo Credit: The View from by Back Steps – Duluth, MN – March 19, 2014

As I greet this morning when all that I hear
Are the sounds of sirens and droning traffic near
Overpowering the songs of birds. Let me not fear.

I send you love when the first memory that comes my way
Is the depth of sadness in your eyes
When you I saw you briefly yesterday.

My beloved grandson there is little I know to do
Except to let you know how much that I love you.

60695_4313542553924_868530826_n

Photo Credit: Ava, Aadi, and Ahma – Hawk’s Ridge – Fall 2012 (Photographer – Jnana Hand)

I know the noise will pass, and spring will soon return
Sometimes only suffering is how we need to learn
But know you are loved, much more than I can say
You’re always in my heart and prayers each and every day.

family 2010

Photo Credit: Ava, Aadi, and Ahma – Duluth, MN – Winter 2010 (Photographer – Jnana Hand)

Your presence in my life is a sacred joy,
May you learn to see your many strengths,
A strong but gentle man who’ll always be my little boy.

Aadi & bubbles

Photo Credit: Aadi and Ahma – Lac du Flambeau, WI – Summer 2002

It helps me to remember when days are dark and grey
That our lives all have a purpose
To walk the path of life with love for all
The ancestors will guide our way.

May you learn to find your inner strength and beauty,
May the ancestors walk with you and guide you on your way
May your life be filled with peace and love, and
May you remember you are loved each and every day.

Richie Havens – Here Comes the Sun

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

16 thoughts on “Someday Soon the Sun Will Come”

    1. Thank you, Joan. Incredibly, after I posted this the snow melted, and the sun periodically peeked briefly through spaces between the clouds 🙂

      And thank you also for your exciting posts recently. I’m so impressed with your willingness to try new advocacy approaches in your work to address injustice!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful, heartfelt tribute to your grandson, Carol. He is very fortunate to have you in his life and on his side. “Here Comes the Sun” is one of my favorite songs, I like, no love, the Richie Havens version of it. Nina Simone did a great cover of the song, also.

    This is a flashmob video I came across some time ago that was really touching, especially when you consider that Spain has been suffering for years under austerity measures imposed by the Troika:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jeff, thank you for your kind words and for sharing the awesome video from Spain. It brought tears to my eyes and touched my heart to see people use their amazing talents to help others have hope and bring smiles to their faces.

      Like

Leave a Reply

