Let’s Paint the World with Peace and Joy

aadi and crocus

Carol A. Hand

Someday I’ll tell you a story
But I don’t know how to start
Should I lead with my intellect
Or speak from my heart?

Will you see me as arrogant
Or understand I’m shy
That I’m just a little different
And I really don’t know why?

I’m more comfortable in nature
Singing with brooks and talking to trees
Speaking with people
Never puts me at ease.

But I’m here for a purpose
And I know that you are too
To learn to live in peace with others
That’s what I try to do.

I wish I could say it’s simple
But that ideal’s so hard to reach
It takes suffering and discipline
To have something meaningful to teach.

It takes listening deeply to others
And caring about what they say
It takes listening to our hearts and dreams
And being present now, each and every day.

Please be patient as I struggle
To find the right words to share
To let you know you’re special,
To let you know I care.

Let’s paint this world together
In colors bold and bright
In colors of hope and kindness
In colors of peace and light.

(Inspired by The Painting (le tableau, Director – Jean-Francois Laguionie)

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Let’s Paint the World with Peace and Joy

  1. Love this! So happy I came across your blog! I love the eclectic feel of it and look forward to reading more! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joan Treppa says:

    This poem gave me goose bumps! I am awed by your words dear friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Debra says:

    Oh, I loved this so much. Being a person is so very hard to do right. I love the vulnerability and hope of the speaker.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. smilecalm says:

    gentle reflection
    of truth
    to love

    Liked by 1 person

  5. schuttzie says:

    “It takes listening deeply to others
    And caring about what they say
    It takes listening to our hearts and dreams
    And being present now, each and every day.”

    Really lovely words, Carol, and the above is so very true. So many people don’t really truly listen to others to be present in the moment of the dialogue. I’m the first to say I’m guilty at times of this. Thank you, for the reminder to listen/understand when conversing or what is the point of being there. Blessings to you, dear Carol, as you continue to inspire others~

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Barbara, thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing such important insights. The beauty and wisdom you see in others can only be seen and understood when it’s what you already carry inside. And you do carry it inside and share it in your work and actions 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. What they ^ said. 🙂

    Thank you, Carol, for this lovely poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. larryjben says:

    Reblogged this on randomthoughts and commented:
    I like this, hope you do too.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jeff Nguyen says:

    Here’s to the painters who make the world brighter for us all. What a wonderfully inspiring poem, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. joanneeddy says:

    Just lovely Carol…I’ll help you paint anytime! Jo

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Reflections – Wednesday, July 20, 2016 | Voices from the Margins

  11. A lovely poem, Carol. And important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

