Patience

Carol A. Hand

Patience –
it’s not my strongest attribute –
but I do try as I anxiously wait for spring to really arrive.
Sometimes, I feel the need to take risks because winter often comes so early.
I plant things before June.
For two mornings in a row this week, I looked over my gardens,
grateful that my neighborhood was spared a killing frost.
I hope other neighborhoods were spared as well.

It’s the first spring in the four I’ve experienced here
that the columbines might flower before being eaten by deer,
the first spring that the tender little plants might be able to grow tall enough to survive torrential, pounding rain.

DSC00744

Photo: Looking southeast as the sun sets – June 1, 2015

As I watched the gently moving shadows created by the sunlight
filtered through the newly emerging leaves this morning,
I wondered how many people in the world today
were able to awaken to a peaceful sanctuary.

This morning and every morning to come,
let me remember to envision peace for all
no matter where I am.

bleeding hearts

Photo: Bleeding Hearts – one of the first flowers to bloom despite very cold nights – May 22, 2015

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

22 thoughts on “Patience”

  1. wonderful reflection of patiently
    being with weather present
    accepting as it is, Carol 🙂

    Enjoyed the indigenous people’s exhibits
    during my visit here in Vancouver, BC, today 🙂

    Like

  2. Wise words about patience, Carol. It is also a reminder for me today as I’ve struggled recently with my patience and it is not a pretty thing, haha. I must keep centered and realize everyone is not me and I’m not them so must exercise patience sometimes.

    Your flower beds look great and I can’t wait to see them in full bloom. What wonderful sanctuary you have in your yard!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s always good to hear from you, Barbara. Thank you 🙂

      Gardening has taught me to deal with uncertainty – I’ve had to learn the hard way that one can never predict what will survive and bloom. Every year, the weather has been so unpredictable – one summer, hot and dry, and the next rainy and cold. And one began with torrential rains and a flood just after I planted. My first winter here it was rarely below freezing, and tow years later we got more than 120 inches of snow and it was never above 20 F below zero. And sometimes, depending on who rents the house next door, it’s a peaceful sanctuary or noisy, chaotic, and unappealing to be outside. So patience and centeredness are something I need to practice, too.

      Like

  3. Such comfort in your words for our weary Minnesota hearts Carol. Our tomato and pepper plants have had the sanctuary of a fabric tent due to the recent chilly nights. And my prison guys are blanketed with the warmth of a legal paper motion and a promise of new hope for more pleasant days ahead. Happy day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How wise of you to cover your plants, Joan. I thought about covering mine, but the gardens are spread all over the yard. (I’ve had to find spots that get enough sun because of all of the large shady trees and work around concrete slabs that were too deep or large to remove.}

      I’m so glad to hear that things are moving forward in a positive direction for the innocent men who have spent so many years in prison. The work you do is so important and inspiring.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful as always…here in BC (Vancouver) we just had a historical May with only 4 mml of rain and temperatures of 20 C (68 F) on average…this coming Sunday it will be 28 C (83 F)…and summer is not even officially here. My plants sprouted as early as March and many have gone already to flower and seed…we have a drought with high temperatures so we have to do something strange: water our plants in April and May! (here, in the middle of the “rain-forest” of BC!)…
    You are so right: not many have the luxury to wake up to a peaceful garden full of wonderful plants…many in this planet wake up to hunger and oppression, forced migration due to climate change impacts, resource wars an the like…only pray, compassion and engagement will save us…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess it’s in my DNA – it’s feels so much more like home than other places I’ve lived – the Illinois prairies, the over-populated East coast, the California coast, or the Rocky Mountains. But I’m aware of the heavy reliance on fossil fuels for heating in a place that is cold, even during some summers, and gets little sun in the winter.

      It sounds as though you have found an ideal new home in terms of climate and culture.

      Like

      1. “All the Earth is my home”…but in reality, our first six to 10 years shape who we are. The more I age I find myself more attached (and missing) my home country. BC (and Surrey) are very multicultural, at this point I think I’m “culture-less” but the weather here is probably the best: not too hot, not too cold. Who knows how climate change will impact each one of us…this area has been warming and become dryer and dryer since they started deforestation and “development”…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

