Promises to Keep

Carol A. Hand

Sometimes I wish there was someone to rock me to sleep
To lighten my burdens and give me time to weep
Some days the cruelty seems too heavy to bear
The powerful keep causing suffering and don’t seem to care.

Hubris and profligacy rule in these days
Tragically it’s the earth and the majority that pays
Let me breathe in love, let my courage run deep
Let me love life fiercely, I have promises to keep.

26487_1293977746691_1147731241_30741017_6277852_n

Photo: Aadi, Ahma (Me), Ava, Jnana – Duluth 2009

Postscript:

I wanted to give credit for the eclectic sources of inspiration woven into this work:

Rock me to sleep” was inspired by a song that I remembered from years ago, “Rockin’ myself to sleep.” It was written by Stuart Stotts and recorded by Laurie Ellen Neustadt (1987), Harvestime songs of aging. Madison, WI: Laurie Ellen Neustadt & Bi-Folkal Productions, Inc. (Link for more information)

Hubris and profligacy” were the words Andrew Bacevich (2008) used to describe the current policies and actions of the U.S. government in his book “The limits of power: The end of American exceptionalism.” (Link for more information)

But I have promises to keep” are words Robert Frost used in his poem “Stopping by the woods on a snowy evening.” (Link for more information)

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Promises to Keep

  1. Eyes on the last two lines, Carol. Blessings to you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh, that I were able to verse such beautiful words. So inspiring, and needed so badly against the malaise being poured upon our bounteous land. Thank you for being here, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. hsampson says:

    Wow wonderful message Carol, (as usual). And wonderful photo! thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tiny says:

    Very deep and powerful poem, Carol. Much love, Tiny.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cindy knoke says:

    And miles to go before you sleep. Rest well my friend~

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Cindy, thank you for sharing Robert Frost’s lovely words – “The woods are lovely, dark and deep, But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.” We can never predict how many miles yet, but I am grateful that we share the journey 🙂

      Like

  6. susanissima says:

    Ah, your last two lines really tied it all together. I read them over and over like a chant.

    “Let me breathe in love, let my courage run deep
    Let me love life fiercely, I have promises to keep.”

    Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Joan Treppa says:

    I share your sentiments my friend. Lovely poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. dolphin says:

    Oh, wow, this is so beautiful, Carol. Really touches me after the evil I’ve been discovering the past two weeks. Glad you enjoyed the Foo Fighters video. That was sooo awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. dolphin says:

    Reblogged this on Dolphin and commented:
    This poem is so beautiful, I wanted to share with you all. Peace to all of us that feed the Light.

    Like

  10. sojourner says:

    “Sometimes I wish there was someone to rock me to sleep
    To lighten my burdens and give me time to weep
    Some days the cruelty seems too heavy to bear
    The powerful keep causing suffering and don’t seem to care.”

    It is as if I can read the troubled thoughts on my heart and mind, which are almost constant companions now: “Sometimes I feel like a motherless child…”

    “I have promises to keep.”

    There are days, more and more now, when I have no energy left to write and post. But what keeps me going is this: I feel like I owe it to someone, I owe it to those I don’t even know. “i have promises to keep,” so I can’t quit!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. smilecalm says:

    how wonderfully
    the longing
    and gratitude
    for other,
    expressed, Carol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. sojourner says:

    Reblogged this on An Outsider's Sojourn II and commented:
    With all the pain and sorrow in this troubled world, here is a beautiful poem to take in and be moved and encouraged by:

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Each poem you write gets better and better. I really enjoyed this one. I like the richness of language, sources alluded too, the rhyme and rhythm. All in all a pretty perfect poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Wonderful poem, powerful message, resonates with me

    Liked by 1 person

  15. mytiturk says:

    I try to breathe in suffering and breathe out healing. Most of the time it’s breathe in news, breathe out fire. But I keep sporadically trying… https://mightyturk.wordpress.com/2012/11/24/tonglen-with-tai-chi/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Bob, and for sharing the link to your wonderful post 🙂

      (Yes, it is hard not to breathe out fire given what is publicized as “news” these days…)

      Like

Leave a Reply

