The Space to Write – Writing 101

Carol A. Hand

My writing chair is magic
It’s a sacred space
Where it’s safe to travel
Through time and from place to place
It helps me open up memories
From the hazy distant past
And takes me to an imagined future
Recording dreams so they will last

DSC00944

Photo: My Writing Space

The rainbow colored cape
Draped across the chair
Was crocheted by my mother
Sometimes I feel her there
Weaving bright threads together
With gnarled arthritic hands
With her healing loving presence
My stories flow in urgent strands

It’s not a fancy chair
In a pristine quiet place
But it’s in a peaceful home
Filled with music, light and grace
May the stories that are written here
Touch hearts with both joy and sorrow
May the stories help us realize that together
We can weave a more peaceful world now and for tomorrow.

Thoughts about Polls:

I really don’t see myself as a writer – I’m merely someone who writes because I must. As I greet the morning, I often feel an urgency to record the thoughts that flow despite pressing tasks that need attention.

As I was reading other blogs this morning, I came across a quote on K. A. Libby’s Blog that describes this compulsion:

“5. I write because I must. I am driven by my obsession to write.” (K. A. Libby)

I’m not sure that a poll to collect writing ideas will help. It could be too overwhelming. But there is another option that is already part of my blog. I do welcome submissions that fit with the blog’s purpose, described on my submissions and about pages. My blog is, after all, called Voices from the Margins. I’m grateful to those who have already shared their stories here as honored guests.

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Space to Write – Writing 101

  1. cicorm says:

    What an inviting and peaceful sanctuary, Carol! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. From your lips to God’s ears, may our writing help foster understanding and peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Roger the Scribe says:

    Loved it! A sanctuary, we writers feel we need, to create poems and writings, to express our thoughts, in peace and tranquility.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this post! The magic chair and the cape from your mother! What a special place to write! What a lovely post!thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  5. One who writes IS a writer… professional, occupational, or otherwise.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. That crochet work is lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, I don’t know that my writing chair is magic, but it is sacred and it’s my own special place, a place for all my thoughts and feelings and hopes to come to light. It’s definitely not fancy, and I am such a clutter bunny. But I know where everything is or at least can find it fairly quickly most days. Why do I write? I wonder sometimes, but I know that I have a need to put things into words about what is important to me in hopes that others might relate and somehow we’ll both be better off for the exchange of ideas. This is a great post, Carol, and it really resonated with me. Thanks for sharing about your special, magical writing space. Hugs, N 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • These are such delightful comments, Natalie! I love hearing about your special writing place (and I’m a “clutter bunny,” too).

      I know I always find something special in the poetry, insights and beautiful photos your share, ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. sojourner says:

    Many of the great composers were so driven to compose that they could not sleep. With many, composing became almost torture. Beethoven, for instance: if anyone would go to the pianoforte and and play a dominant seven chord without resolving it to the tonic, Beethoven would be driven to go and resolve it at the pianoforte. Even after his deafness had set in, Beethoven could not stop composing: the ninth symphony was written when he was completely deaf.

    Chopin would stay away from his fiance because he claimed her love was interfering with the music in his head.

    My point is, art and expression cannot easily be explained away with mere science. Artists are driven to do what they were made to do, or at least this is my perspective.

    Those who have been gifted to raise people up are driven to fulfill that purpose.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I appreciate learning more about great composers, Sojourner, and your point is well-taken. When we love what we do, our art (whatever it is) flows through us if we let it, in a process over which we have little or no control. Blocking it is also possible but there’s a heavy price to pay…

      Liked by 1 person

  9. sojourner says:

    Oh, and by the way, this is why you have this sacred space, this sanctuary, so you can fulfill your purpose as a WRITER, as an ARTIST!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for settling the issue Robert and I were sparring about – making the clear distinction between purpose and reified identity. My purpose and art (at the moment) may be writing, but it’s not who I am or all that I am as a person…

      Liked by 1 person

      • sojourner says:

        “My purpose and art (at the moment) may be writing, but it’s not who I am or all that I am as a person…”

        Absolutely! We are all much more than our gifts and purposes, and we also have a responsibility to care for and seek out our own selves as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Rajagopal says:

    Your evocative description, Carol, has woven a magical web around the chair, cape and sacredness of the writing space. The sanctity in your writings, I like to presume, may clearly be attributable to these artefacts…best wishes,

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Editing Journal Week Five | Voices from the Margins

Leave a Reply

