International Day of Peace

Carol A. Hand

Dear friend, I almost forgot today was the day
You were so proud of supporting

But I haven’t forgotten your kindness
So many years ago
When we were refugees of sorts
Running away from the troubles of the world
To a place we hoped we would find peace
Instead, we realized it’s never that easy

We took our separate paths
To find ourselves first

But I’m grateful we had a chance to reconnect
Before your passing
So you could tell me that you once loved me
And I could tell you that I knew
But you were too kind
I didn’t think I deserved it then

You were always a peacemaker
So I didn’t find it surprising
That the accomplishment that made you most proud
Was the role you played in promoting World Peace Day

poster

Poster: International Day of Peace Poster

I couldn’t let the day pass without a tribute,
Without letting others know
There are many unsung heroes
May you rest in peace dear one
You have not been forgotten

Let me send out a prayer for peace today
To honor you
Because you’re no longer here to pray.

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Social Justice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to International Day of Peace

  1. A Very timely reminder to pray for peace. Lord knows that we need it now more than ever.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Rajagopal says:

    To the lovely voice in your poem, I like to chant the Vedic mantra, Om shanti, shanti, shanti (peace, peace, and peace, for all humanity, all animate and inanimate forms, for all creative manifestation of the universe)…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. A writer from the East says:

    Right now, the world needs peace more than it ever did.
    Thanks for reminding us again and sharing this lovely post/very interesting link here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

