Gratitude for Knowing When “Enough Is Enough”

Carol A. Hand

I remember the golden light of other northwoods’ autumn mornings
The brisk refreshing winds that caress my cheeks and toss my fairy-fine hair
I’m grateful for the memories of love and laughter in my life
It is enough

As I listen to my parakeets and dog sing to greet the day
The morning sun streams through the windows
Casting dancing lights and shadows on the wall
It is enough

To learn of my daughter’s accomplishment and share laughter in an email
I think of my family and hope that they will continue to experience
The beauty and gift of golden autumn mornings like today
It is enough

Knowing when “enough is enough” and being grateful – the path to peace.

orange_autumn_trees_216859

Photo: Autumn Trees

Reflections inspired by the Tao:

When people do not follow Tao
Their horses are harnessed for war,
Their energies are used for destruction,
And many go hungry.
Great trouble comes
From not knowing what is enough.
Great conflict arises from wanting too much.
When we know when enough is enough,
There will always be enough.
(Dreher, 1990, p. 126).

Work Cited:

Diane Dreher (1990). The Tao of inner peace: A guide to inner and outer peace. New York, NY: Harper Perennial.

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Gratitude for Knowing When “Enough Is Enough”

  1. AprilEsutton says:

    Didn’t see anything about achievement, awards and recognition! Wow. Love and beauty are enough for peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tiny says:

    Appreciating what is and knowing that it is enough is a blessing! Beautifully expressed in your poem, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Simply stunning and oh so true, Carol. I have to agree 100% with Tiny’s comments. Today and always, enough is enough! Love, N 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carol, I believe you have named the scourge of our time. Maybe it is just the bane of humanity. So hard to witness endless consumption.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. smilecalm says:

    a beautiful expression, Carol!
    carrying me into knowing
    this day
    that i have more
    than enough 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Funny, I’ve been re-reading a new translation of the TaoTeChing for the past couple of weeks. It grounds me in the helter skelter at the clinic. Lovely poem.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your wonderful comments, Skywalker. 🙂

      The Tao is lovely and deeply meaningful. I don’t read it as often as I used to. Still, I keep Dreher’s book on the nightstand by my bed and sometimes open it randomly to see the message that appears. Occasionally, I wake up the next morning with an insight I feel an urgency to share as I did the morning I wrote this short poem.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Very timely post for me, as we in Canada are celebrating Thanksgiving this very weekend in our churches and communities! (Our holiday is not connected to any historical episodes. For those of us following Christ in our spiritual practice, this is a special time of thanking God for the harvest and all the blessings we enjoy daily, even amidst troubles. We are reminded not to take our blessings for granted, and to share with others so there is enough for all). Your poem’s vivid imagery beautifully inspires the enjoyment of the simplicity and blessings of every day life! The Dreher poem clearly expresses the mindset of the Thanksgiving message too – we share some essential principles. Thank-you for this lovely post! Wishing you continuing simplicity, thanksgiving, and peace each day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. mytiturk says:

    My favourite time of year. Thanks for reminding me to be thankful for beauty even in the midst of a determined struggle for my country against a hate-sowing tyrant.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Reblogged this on Buster's Two Cents and commented:
    A perfect thought! Unfortunately, old Bernie’s take on the subject is also needed in our current circumstances.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

