What Is THE MIX and Why Is It Important? – An Interview with Trace Lara Hentz

Carol A. Hand

Trace Lara Hentz graciously agreed to share a little bit about her experiences as a blogger, and to describe her newest blog, THE MIX. She has been a virtual friend since the beginning of my blogging career in June of 2013. Although we’ve never met in person, I have come to know her as a dear friend and as a sister in spirit.

In January of 2015, she asked if I would be willing to serve as a co-editor for THE MIX. I agreed, although I see my role as a supportive silent partner. Trace has done most of the conceptual and technical work. Her leadership, vision and passion are evident in the following interview.

Carol: Can you talk a little about your history with blogging?

Trace:

I’m a self-taught blogger since 2009. I frequently use Google’s Blogger, Tumblr and WordPress – and all are good. I have worked as a journalist since 1996 – and since 2009, I’ve published 5 books. I tell my blogging class if you have a book, you must have a blog. And I’ve contributed to many books on the topic of adoption since 2009.

Carol: What types of issues do you cover? (You can list your blogs and addresses if you wish with a phrase to describe content or link to the about page.)

Trace:

On WordPress, I’m a more serious journalist and cover adoption, adoptee reunions like my own, human trafficking, American Indian history and much more, including what I am reading (which can be quite a mix)
LINK: www.larahentz.wordpress.com (All my books are listed there on their own page.)

My research into intercountry adoption, adoption history and orphanages: www.laramieharlow.wordpress.com (This used to be my author website. There are older posts from when I used the name Trace DeMeyer.)

On blogger, I set up a teaching blog for my workshops on blogging and social media: Take a look: www.blogscouts.tips

And of course THE MIX: www.mixemag.wordpress.com

You can see I blog a lot but it’s important to me to share information on the internet since print newspapers have diminished so much or disappeared.

the mix

Image: Clip Art (Source)

Carol: Can you share a little background on why you felt it was important to create a new blog, THE MIX?

Trace:

I looked at many blogs about mixed ancestry and the name suits our topic.

WHY the MIX? Experience is what brought me to create THE MIX as a weekly blog that runs on Wednesday.

When I look at my African-American and Native-mix husband, Herb, whom I love dearly and trust implicitly, I flashback to a recent time when a member in my birth-family said to another relative that if I brought Herb back to Illinois with me, there would be a “rope” (which meant lynching, but I did hear this second-hand and not directly to my face.) I could not find words during that phone call but I deeply felt the horror and prejudice aimed at me and my husband.

Years earlier, my adoptive father was verbally violently racist, witnessed by many. A cousin in another state was dating an African American and since she was “white,” my father said he’d kill me if I ever did that.

Even in our own families, we can have such a deep racial divide, it seems insurmountable.

Right after Herb and I were married, I was at a conference and met a church lady, Reverend (not sure which denomination she was), and asked to speak with her sometime. I gave her my home phone number. There was discord with a close relative of my husband who was very upset we were married. I just wanted to speak to someone about how to handle it. This was because I was verbally assaulted in front of other family at a funeral. That reverend never called. (And I never expected an apology and never got one from Herb’s relative to this day. She has kept her distance and I have not been in a room with her since.)

I realized that many other people who are mixed (in their marriage or in their own family) have run into the same issues I have.

I am not the only one to notice that too many people are judged by their skin color which I find ludicrous. It’s true we come from multitudes of countries and differing ancestries, but not race. There is no such thing as race. It’s used a construct to divide us. It has accomplished some of the most heinous genocide in past centuries.

In creating the MIX with you Carol and inviting others to write about their mixed families and their experiences, I hope in doing that we can start a dialog on how to fix these warped perceptions, once and for all.

Since January 2015, the MIX has received many “likes” and someday, my hope is that these stories will used in classrooms and find a broad audience.

It simply seemed the right time to do this weekly blog.

Brief Bio: Trace Lara Hentz is a working journalist and the founder of Blue Hand Books, a collective of Native American writers. You can find our more about her here: https://about.me/trace15

I encourage readers to visit THE MIX to see the important resources Trace is publishing!

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Challenging the Status Quo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What Is THE MIX and Why Is It Important? – An Interview with Trace Lara Hentz

  1. thanks for sharing, very nice interview!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lara/Trace says:

    Megwetch Carol. Thank you for the interview! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: What Is THE MIX and Why Is It Important? – An Interview with Trace Lara Hentz | lara

  4. I wonder how she manages to maintain multiple blogs?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. desilef says:

    Thank you for pointing readers to THE MIX. The present and future of our society! Very valuable and timely.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I appreciate your thoughtful comments, Diane. I agree with you – this is a timely and crucial topic. Understanding the tremendous diversity and yet shared humanity of the people of our world are essential building blocks for peace and inclusion.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks Carol for sharing this. I did go and check out her blog. I’m so glad she is making people aware of biracial and adopted issues. Both my grandsons are Guatemalan born babies. One of them is 50% Mayan, a native species who inhabited the Yucatan Peninsula and down into Central American when Christopher Columbus came. My daughter watched a PBS special about starving children in that part of the world when she was about 13, and she told me then that she when she grew up she would adopt some of those children and she did. Her two boys were adopted at birth, but the red tape on adoption prevented her and her husband from bring the oldest one home until he was 6 months old and the youngest one when he was 8 months old. They are now 13 and 14 years old and doing extremely well. I have been expecting their to be some bias towards them since their birth but given that there are so many hispanics in our area now so far so good. But they are going to private Christian schools that are out of the reach price wise of most of the hispanic population, and so will more than likely begin to want to date girls who are not hispanic and that may create some problems for them even among people who profess to be Christians sadly. Being the fiery mother hen that I am, I will get my feathers ruffled as soon as I get wind of it and want to take issues with anyone who would hurt or discriminate against our boys. I hope it never happens, but I know how bigoted some people can be, especially here in Texas. My daughter who is far more tactful than I will do well to handle it and keep her mother from finding out. My parents owned a business when we moved here and they employed black people who were invited to our home from time to time. And when my Dad died and they were refused entrance to his funeral at a local church, at the age of 18 I turned my back on religion and it was decades before I ever walked through the doors of a church again. Even now I’m very wary of the churches I attend and the way the people in them behave. Again thanks for sharing and supporting this kind of awareness. Love and hugs, Natalie 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for sharing stories about your daughter and grandchildren with such honesty, love, and passion about social justice, Natalie. Knowing more about your history makes me realize how many things we share. I’m deeply grateful for this gift of trust and kindness, and send you love and hugs, too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: What Is THE MIX and Why Is It Important? – An Interview with Trace Lara Hentz | Voices from the Margins | Mixed American Life

Leave a Reply

