Saturday Quote

Galeano

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
Image | This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Saturday Quote

  1. Kate Houck says:

    This is wonderful. I am planning to pick up his book, Children of the Days, at the library this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comments, Kate. This is the first of Galeano’s books that I’ve read. I’ve just begun and I find it extraordinarily creative – an inclusive collection of voices that have been omitted from historical accounts. I wish I had discovered his work sooner!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. vellissima says:

    Lovely, I need a permanent grandson. And I sure need to be more forgetful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great comments, Vellissima 🙂 I love the beauty conveyed by these ways of describing the world – lightening as the “glow of rain,” a friend as “my other heart.” And like you, I also need to be more forgetful.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. smilecalm says:

    reminds me to forget
    when not trying
    to 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a depthful of meaning.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Melissa Shaw-Smith says:

    Ah, wisdom indeed! Thank you, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

