Reflections about Being a Grandparent

Carol A. Hand

“Ahma, What are you making?”

“Baked tofu, Sweetie”

“I don’t like tofu,” Ava replies, wrinkling her nose.

“But it’s good for you. It’s a healthy source of protein if you don’t eat meat. Do you have it at home?”

“Yes. My mom chops it up and puts it in with vegetable stir fry. But I still don’t like it.”

“Let’s make a deal. Just try one piece when I’m done. I think you’ll like it. The secret is the spice.”

Twenty minutes later.

“Okay, it’s ready to try. Here’s a little piece, Ava.”

“I’m only eating one piece. But I know I won’t like it.”

“So what do you think?”

“I guess it’s okay.”

Taking another piece, “Well, maybe better than okay.”

“Well, maybe it’s really good. It tastes like bacon. I’ve had five pieces. Well, maybe more than that.”

“Will you tell my mom how to make this? It tastes kind of like bacon.”

12109193_10206457071162727_8572975793958092724_n

Photo: October 2015

Some days it’s just a joy to spend time with my granddaughter. Yes, the nagging fear about the future she will face is still there. The anger that government leaders don’t care if she lives or dies is there, too. And the outrage that corporations don’t care if they poison the air she breathes, the water she drinks, or the food she eats. But for this moment, we live with joy and laughter. I’ll deal with the threats later if I can. Now is the time for love and play. I need these moments to give me hope and strength…

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

25 thoughts on “Reflections about Being a Grandparent”

  1. “Now is the time for love and play” – YES! This time together–now–is a blessing that cannot be replaced! Its beautiful warm memories make a rock-solid foundation, no matter what the future brings. You and your sweet granddaughter are quite the team! How delightful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Carol, there is nothing like spending time with grandchildren! I am a new grandparent and I can’t believe how good it is. It makes growing old worth it! All we can do is love and teach them the best we know. Regardless of the insanity we see daily I have hope for the future. Take care. Bob

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lovely post, Carol. Joy and Love are sustainable. Perhaps as grandparents we can all love these beautiful little souls by creating opportunities for fun and joy. We then give the sustainable gifts of acceptance, empowerment and Love, which will serve them well in an ever changing world. I especially appreciate this post as I anticipate the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday that I will enjoy with all of my grandchildren. Blessings to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, Carol, this is Buster’s old pappy, walt. 1st – Thanks for “liking a few of Buster’s posts! Also, thanks for your reflections on you granddaughter. I have 5 out East and a few great-grandmonsters. Just got one here in the Idyhoe desert four months ago. These little darlings motivate Buster and I to try to help our readers understand why they must get involved in the awful business of politics. If good people care and vote, we may yet be able to save a world for the little ones.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. It’s really very simple – Simply slice the block of tofu into small slices in it’s container and add some soy sauce and curry powder. Let it marinate in the refrigerator for at least a couple hours. When you ready to bake it, put the slices on a cookie sheet. I use olive oil to coat the sheet and flip each slice so they’re covered on both sides. I spoon a little of the marinade on each slice and bake at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes. I used to flip them once but I’ve discovered it works just as well if I just leave them alone. I do put them on a paper towel to drain of some of the oil. If you try this, let me know what you think, Hector 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

    1. I appreciate the information. Skywalker. I’m hopeful that the extra money I pay for organic products really means no chemicals or GMOs. In moderation, tofu is certainly healthier than the pepperoni, salami, or bacon she prefers.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Tofu is a godsend, it makes good jerky too. Not that I can make it mind you, but I know who can. And speaking of bacon, do you know that McCormick Bac’n Bits are vegan. Just goes to show you can have bacon without the bacon. Just thought I’d throw that in here, hope you don’t mind. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember when I used to make tofu from scratch – soaking, blending, and boiling soybeans, cooking and curdling the milk, and draining and pressing the cheese. Now, I can buy it in a package, and although it doesn’t taste as good, it’s much more convenient. I have time to do other things, but somehow, those old days have assumed a golden glow in my memory. But I wouldn’t go back. Maybe I’ll go forward instead and try the jerky and bac’n bits you’ve recommended. Maybe I won’t have to bake tofu anymore 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

