Reflections about Holi-days

Carol A. Hand

Sometimes being unable to connect to the world with technology is a gift
It may sometimes remind us of life before the gadgets that monopolize our attention
When it was possible to sense the deep wonder and mystery of just being alive
Present in the holiness of the moment and unlimited future possibilities

37887_1395947975883_8145793_n

Photo: My Grandchildren 2010

Memories of those precious times in my youth came suddenly on Thanksgiving
When my virtual window to the world, my computer, was momentarily inaccessible
The insights almost disappeared into the ethers again when my computer problems were resolved
But this morning, the empty computer screen reminded me to share this memory

Jnana & me

Photo: My Daughter and Me – 2012

The commercialization of holy-days distracts us from the wonder that gives life deeper meaning
It’s not a shallow denominational view, it’s a deeper connection to each other and the cosmos
Sending you blessings – may we all experience the love and peace that are ever possible
They’re all that protects us from those who would extinguish hope and light

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Reflections about Holi-days

  1. Blessings to you and your beautiful family

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Many blessings to you, as well, Carol~ I dislike Christmas and Black Friday has become with all the consumerism, people wanting more and more. It is really upsetting when they show the news with people getting into fights over a TV or something. Just very sad. We need to remember what these family gatherings are supposed to be about.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Carol, you and your commenters write such lovely words, expressing positive thoughts. The commercialization of everything is a quite sad – out here in the boonies of Idyhoe where my teetering old pappy and I now hang out, some retailers give you a free rifle with your purchase. Pap and I think we’ve gone about as far as we can go!! Happy – non-shopping – Holidays to all of you!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Thanks, Carol. And blessings, too, to you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful family pictures, Carol. Wishing you and yours the happiest of Holy Days! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Hildegard says:

    Thanks, Carol, for reminding us about the important things in life. I simply add my best wishes and blessings to the others’. I love your pictures too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lovely photos, Carol. Your family is obviously precious to you. Always good to remember that our communications devices are means to an end, and for children especially, need to be monitored. In fact, giving kids cellphones is a practice that is unsafe. Many international studies link wireless radiation to growing cancer and brain tumour rates. Israel, France and Italy now do not allow WiFi in schools and preschools and are passing laws to regulate cellphone use by minors, since their bodies are so much more vulnerable than an adult’s. Be aware and be safe. Blessings.
    https://www.rfsafe.com/world-dials-in-on-cell-phone-radiation/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kinds words, Art, and for sharing important information about the health dangers associated with technology. I don’t use WiFi, but I do have a simple cell phone that I try not to use often. But I do worry a great deal about all of the health hazards children are exposed to these days.

      Like

  8. Pat says:

    Thank you for this reflection, Carol. “Love and peace. . .they’re all that protects us from those who would extinguish hope and light.” Yes. Your words remind me of a William Stafford poem that you probably are familiar with. It’s from A Ritual to Read to Each Other:
    “For it is important that awake people be awake,
    or a breaking line may discourage them back to
    sleep;
    the signals we give — yes or no, or maybe —
    should be clear: the darkness around us is deep.”

    Your words are so important and your blessings so appreciated. Blessings on you, as well, and always.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is always such a gift to hear from you, Pat. Your kind words and blessings touch me deeply, as does the the poem you shared. I haven’t read Stafford’s work before. Thank you so much.

      Like

  9. I thought you would be interested in this article by indigenous activist Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz about the myth of Thanksgiving – how it was used to conceal the true history of Native American conquest, dispossession and genocide: http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/11/28/the-myth-of-thanksgiving/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing this, Stuart. I do want to read her work sometime soon. I need to finish the book I’m working on first and go through the first edit from beginning to end. Then, I want to read Dunbar-Ortiz’s work. I’m grateful for this link and the book you recommended a while ago, too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

