2015 – A Strange December

Carol A. Hand

I awoke this morning to December rain
The temperature is still well above freezing
Yet Christmas lights glow in the night

DSC01066

Photo: Pulmonaria (Lungwort) – Duluth, MN – December 6, 2015

True, these are the dark days in the northern hemisphere
I can understand the need for light and joy

DSC01069

Photo: Duluth, MN – December 6, 2015

But I remember the years of firelight and candles
The warmth of family gathered round
Now lights on the outside of each lonely house
Merely symbolize the illusion nothing has changed
It’s not a comfort to me to know so few understand

DSC01070

Photo: Phlox – December 6, 2015

Is there hope in politicians who party?
On the left, the Sometimes Prophetic Greens
On the right the Mean-Spirited Obscenes
In the middle the Self(ish) Preservationist In-Betweens

DSC01067

Photo: Columbine – Duluth, MN – December 6, 2015

Still I awake with hope in my heart to do what I can
Live simply, plant gardens, share, be honest but kind
Lead by example – let my house and yard be darker or solar-lit
Let the light of love glow in my thoughts and heart instead
In all seasons for the best of all reasons
The survival of all depends on loving enough
And breathing that spirit into all that we do

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2015 – A Strange December

  1. Carol: we’re getting the same weird winter weather here in the southeastern part of British Columbia. And we’re right in the mountains! (Where the glaciers are that feed our watershed.) I grew up in this country and never do I recall such a prolonged period of rainy weather in December. You’d have to be dense not to see climate change at work. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I appreciate your comments, Art. It seems to be easier to simply live as though nothing will ever change. The magnitude of tacking global climate change is so overwhelming it’s immobilizing.

      Like

  2. I love the last part with all your wisdom about how to live a conscious, respectful, and meaning-filled life. Beautiful, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for your lovely comments, D. I’m deeply grateful, especially when I suspect you’re still dealing with floods and perhaps relying on a generator for electricity. I send my best wishes to you and your family.

    Like

  4. Oh, Carol, It is so warm here! Frightening and sad. Our friends in India are under water. Friends in Australia facing unbearable heat and drought. One prays and works for change. Your words soothe the rawness of all this. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Changing and unpredictable weather patterns are a serious concern, Michael, as is the media silence about alarming events. Rarely do I see news about India or Australia, or even the flooding and landslides in Oregon and Washington. Yet as you point out, we need to stay focused on what we can do…

      Like

Leave a Reply

