Celebrating the New Year

Carol A. Hand

Shifting perspectives of the place where we live
Sometimes seen through the vantage point of an eagle

DSC01130

Other times seen though a well-traveled windshield as we descend

DSC01134

Winding downward into the working-class side of the city

DSC01137

A quick glimpse of the western ridge that changes with the seasons

DSC01147

Driving through neighborhoods that have perhaps seen more prosperous times

DSC01148

Watching light change with the setting sun, the plowed and shoveled snow in shadow

DSC01152

Into the heart of the city, not always the prettiest of sights

DSC01157

This old home of the Dakota, Ojibwe, was once was the fastest growing city in a new nation

DSC01145

Even though some of us may sleep through part of the journey
Trusting that those who watch over us will keep us safe

DSC01160

We will finally reach our next, temporary destination
Grateful both for the respite and the journey that we’ve shared together

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Celebrating the New Year

  1. Cities aren’t my favorite places, Carol, especially when they are fading. But I try to remember that there are rich lives within those graying walls. And you are right that its the journey that counts and this is only a glimpse in time. The future is unknown, so gratefulness in and for the moment is never wasted. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for your thoughtful reflections, D. Cities aren’t my favorite places, either, yet I am grateful to be closer to family. And even here, it’s possible to to find peaceful moments and opportunities to bring a little peace, kindness, or laughter into the lives of others.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. smilecalm says:

    how skillfully
    this road home
    is safely managed 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. desilef says:

    Thank you for showing us more of your world. Now I can picture these scenes when I read your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Diane. I have so often wished that I had a camera with me when I’m traveling through town. (Yesterday, as a passenger, I decided to play with my camera to see if it could capture pictures as we moved…)

      Like

  4. dolphin says:

    Reblogged this on Dolphin.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carol, your view along the way was refreshing 🙂 Seeing old places with new eyes can be invigorating.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pat says:

    Ditto to many of the above comments, and thank you for this generous window into some of the places where you wander. I feel closer to you from taking this picture-journey with you. Once, many years ago, I was hitching cross country and got a ride and a conversation from a nice guy–I thought him old at the time; I imagine now that he was our age. I told him that I was headed for the country, that cities weren’t my thing. He responded, gently, that cities are so filled with life; where ideas are born; where diversity flowers, and mostly where subversion begins. I am far more generous with my opinions about cities as a result of that conversation! Thanks again, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The depth and beauty of your comments reminds me why I blog, Pat. I have the privilege of learning to see the world through the perspective of others who see miracles even in obscure and ordinary places.
      Thank you for sharing these lovely memories and kind words, Pat.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Wishing you peace, love and abundant blessings in the new year ahead, Carol! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wishing you the same, Bette, and sending my thank you for your kind words and blessings. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Tiny says:

    May the journey into the new year bring you and your loved ones happiness, joy and good health!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Andy says:

    Happy New Year to you from Manchester, UK. The Internet makes neighbours of us all. Please keep the noise down when you put the cat out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Kate Houck says:

    What a clever and creative post, Carol. A journey through words and photos that is not always easy, but one we can take together. Happy New Year to you. Looking forward to the wisdom you have to share in 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Kennedy says:

    Beautiful observations about what we see everyday, beautiful family…through this lens there is nothing to be but thankful. Happy New Year, Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. themofman says:

    A belated Happy New Year to you, Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. goroyboy says:

    Interesting post my Friend. A simple reminder of the hard cold armor we cover Mother Earth with that prevents life giving sun from reaching her.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: Photography – Wednesday, July 13, 2016 | Voices from the Margins

Leave a Reply

