Do You Ever Have a Doodle Day?

Carol A. Hand

My granddaughter’s frequent visits inspire me to draw and doodle. I’m always surprised that she doesn’t realize how gifted she is as an artist. She often tells me that she wants to learn how to draw people, animals, and other things that look “real.”

During her last visit, she wanted me to show her how to draw hands. (Funny, given our last name…) I told her that it’s not an easy thing to do! But she tried, anyway.

One of her earlier attempts was sitting on my desk where it joined the pile of scraps that are expediently handy for taking notes or doodling while I’m on the phone. The hands of her figures were left undone, and I let them stay that way.

I loved the shapes she drew of people and added a few details – a collaborative, playful inter-generational creation. I decided to post our version of art, although my photos don’t really do it justice.

doodle 3

Drawing: Ava S. Hand Johnson & Carol A. Hand

Her artwork fascinates me. I hope that her creative originality won’t be lost to the normalizing judgement of what constitutes “good art.” Work that inspires others to join in the process of joyful creation is a gift. And her work never fails to bring a smile to my face. Thank you, my dear granddaughter, for the beauty and joy you bring into my life.

 

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Do You Ever Have a Doodle Day?

  1. The walls of my home are covered with the works of my children and grandchildren, and even a few collaborative efforts from when they were small. They are my masterpieces and I would not trade them for anything. I love that you see this too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. smilecalm says:

    wonderful talent
    & the loving
    support she receives 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My grandson isn’t quite old enough for a doodle day, but I’m inspired. As soon as he’s able, we will be drawing together. I love the serene faces and cloudy hair on your doodle 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh I used to doodle all the time and I haven’t in ages. I think perhaps it’s time to do it again.Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. hsampson says:

    Definitely she has got talent Carol!! Thank you for sharing it!! I still keep some drawings my daughters did years ago!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hildegard says:

    Wonderful!! Inspiring!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful drawings from your granddaughter x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

