Tuesday – February 23, 2016

Carol A. Hand

draw tree hug 3

Sometimes the world is right-side-up

draw handstand 3

And other times upside down

draw teacher

Sometimes I’m a serious scholar

draw man in rainbow hat

And other times a clown

 

So many thoughts were swirling through my mind today, it was hard to focus on writing. These silly words kept repeating in my thoughts this morning until I wrote them down. Later, I added drawings (both old and new), edited with Microsoft Word photo tools.

The words and pictures lightened my day after writing about serious topics. I hope they bring a smile to your day, too.

 

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

30 thoughts on “Tuesday – February 23, 2016”

  1. This post made me smile, it was like a reward for all the nightmare I am left to deal with in these days. Thanks, Carol for putting a smile on our faces 🙂

    Like

      1. I know I have been silent lately but from time to time I am reading your blog and actually you have inspired me to write my first print every story on indigenous people of my country, today I published at my site! I thank you for being a positive influence on me to become more connected to both history and helping me realize my love for mother nature can be inter linked to social issues.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful comments. I’m deeply touched.

          I was just writing my reflection for the day before transitioning to working on my book. The thoughts, although still rough, relate to the importance of your insights and work –

          February 24, 2016

          As I finished washing dishes and wiping off counters this morning, I was pondering what overall conclusions I could draw from my study of Ojibwe child welfare. Here’s a simple beginning list –

          People are people
          Yet culture matters profoundly
          Ignorance of one’s culture doesn’t mean it isn’t important
          The deliberate destruction of others’ cultures is a serious crime
          Yet even after centuries of deliberate oppression, key remnants of Ojibwe culture remain
          Culture lives on in people’s memories and the stories that they tell
          Sharing those stories breathes new life into the connections that unite people
          Memories embedded in these stories connect people to places and to each other through past, present, and future times

          Creating a safe respectful space for people to remember and tell their stories can build greater awareness and empathy. Stories serve as bridges across differences.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Thanks to you, I am sorry that from time to time I come to distract you but I do look forward towards reading your book so please keep your readers posted for it 🙂
          Priceless pearls you narrate, indeed cultures live on, even if humans perish and stories certainly serve as bridges I say this keeping my Muhajir identity that helps me bridge post partition 1947 issues.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. You know I love your little drawings, Carol, and these are just too cute! And as for silliness I’m quite good at that myself at times. I think that’s the only way we can make it in this crazy world sometimes. And when we lose our focus that can be a good thing too as it allows us to back away from the trees and see the whole forest again. Loved this post and hope you’ve had a good day as a result of your whimsies!!!! Love and hugs, N 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words, David. I wish I could draw better, but then, all my attempts at art are merely meant to celebrate life in all its ups and downs and somehow touch others. Your kindness and beautiful photos and poetry do touch others deeply.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It is funny, isn’t it Ray 🙂 It did turn out rather like a self-portrait, although the image I used as a model was very different. (I don’t think I ever looked like that when I taught … but some of the teachers I had during the years really did…)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

