Sunday, March 13, 2016

Carol A. Hand

Ah, discipline
There are so many unhealthy things I still do
But I’m learning to trust myself and my heart
Learning to be impatiently patient
To finish what I’ve begun
Even on days when the path is unclear

Lilac March 13, 2016

Photo: An Eager Lilac Waiting to Bloom and a New Garden in Need of Loving Care

An early false spring tempts me to put writing aside
There are old gardens to prepare and a rusting building
Begging to be torn down to make space for new life
But I know there are freezing nights and days to come

Both ending and beginning projects too soon
Is ill-advised

DSC01266

Photo: A Someday Garden?

My ancestors remind me of ethics as I work today
Do things when the time is right
So I write
With an ending insight in sight

Note: These reflections are inspired by making it to the 75 % point in the first draft of my book – 38 chapters, 358 pages. Yes, I’m counting…

I’m grateful for your continuing patience with my inability to keep up with your posts despite my best efforts during breaks and in the wee hours of the night. Even though I can’t often find words to comment during those visits, your work continues to be an inspiration. Chi Miigwetch (Ojibwe thank you very much).

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sunday, March 13, 2016

  1. wolfegeo says:

    So true; so difficult; so timely. Beautifully said.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a lovely post. Your words speak to me today, Carol, of the need to wait for the right moment to move ahead with a particular project. Best wishes 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. themomfred says:

    Yippee! One of my daughters also counts her progress in everything. by percent complete and percent to go. Of all my children, she accomplishes the most consistently.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for another swell old homily, Carol. walt and Buster

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carol, all the best with your writing project as you move forward.

    Thankfully, last year, I completed my novel in progress and am now in the revision stage. Still more work ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hildegard says:

    Congratulations on your progress – very impressive! I totally understand the temptation to leave something and start something else 🙂 Thanks for the insight and reminder to keep plugging away consistently to get desired results. Best wishes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sojourner says:

    We’ll be here! BTW, I love Lilac!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m having trouble keeping up with things to do in the yard and writing for my blog too. I’m impressed that you have gotten that much done already. Don’t worry about your blog. We’ll all still be here when you return. Love and hugs, Natalie 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Bernadette says:

    You are making such impressive progressive. Make time for yourself to rest and refresh and enjoy the oncoming season of renewal as you come into the home stretch.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lara/Trace says:

    We’ll be here when you have time – that garden needs you! ❤ you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

