Sunday, March 20, 2016

Carol A. Hand

A beautiful first day of spring
Clear blue sky aglow from the rising sun
Turning bare tree branches golden
Cold sweet air filled with bird song

tree tops

Fully present in the beauty of this moment
I know it will pass too quickly
So many awake to other realities
For their sake and the earth
I wish we could simply learn to live in peace

***

Acknowledgement: I wish to thank David at Smilecalm for inspiring this reflection with his latest post. His lovely words and photos touched my heart with their wisdom, depth, and beauty. Chi miigwetch for sharing your gifts.

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday, March 20, 2016

  1. Thanks, Carol. I, too, wish we could all live in peace.

    Here in West Los Angeles, Southern California, the sky is overcast with a blanket of sorrow. The leaves of the palm trees are still and limp, preparing for the worse.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for sharing your powerful observations and compelling poetry, Rosaliene. I’ve realized that even in moments of peace and beauty, there’s a sense of deep sadness. Moments of reprieve from cruelty and suffering in the world are fleeting, fragile, unavailable to many, and ever threatened for all. Still, I try to celebrate and share those moments when I can, in part so I can remember other times when “the sky is overcast with a blanket of sorrow.”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. smilecalm says:

    beautiful whispers
    of spring
    which will endure
    into all seasons, Carol!
    thanks for your kind shout out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bernadette says:

    Wishing you the blessing of renewal on the equinox.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Margaret Mair says:

    Lovely words and a wish we all can share. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I pray that one day we shall all know peace, my friend! It was a beautiful but coldish first day of spring here. Have a wonderful week sweet lady. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. If we each took a moment to notice the beauty around us, perhaps there would be a hope for peace. I love your presence, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: 31 beautiful ways to say Hello to the Spring | look around!

Leave a Reply

