Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Carol A. Hand

A task that once felt impossible
Is now almost complete
The last four chapters outlined
Yet the ending feels bittersweet

Although eager to write the final word
It means saying a poignant adieu
To a fictive version of my younger self
A faithful winter companion – sad but true

DSC01059

I’ll meet her again as I edit
But somehow it won’t be the same
The distance between us has grown
I’ve even given her a different name

She took me inside another world
For that I’ll be forever in her debt
As the process of reliving the past ends I know
Each new moment has much to teach me yet

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

39 thoughts on “Wednesday, March 30, 2016”

  1. The downside, and yet, at the same time, upside, of being a creative person.

    I always feel a little sad after I finish a composition. But you’re right, Carol, there is more to learn, experience and create. And in that is the joy and desire to carry on!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. So true, Dave. I’ve already been planning new (low cost sweat equity) things to do with my yard and gardens, trying to use my time wisely drafting this book before the weather turns warmer (usually mid-May here). I will need the balance of gardening to go though the editing process. Thank you for reminding me that the joy is in the processes of learning and creating, not the things we create 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  2. I love this, Carol. This is exactly how I feel when I finish a first draft. It’s like saying goodbye to a piece of oneself. Subsequent drafts aren’t quite the same as the journey is already done. Great luck to you as you near the end of one journey and begin another 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I believe it’s Gods merciful spirit that leads me back to therapy/encouraging blogs such as yours Carol. You are an inspiration to embrace the process and patience is part of it as well. Reading your words remind me that if you find a better center when you write, exercise, paint, whatever talent God gives you, it is my own ignorance that results in imbalance darkness and recently angry and bitter towards others if I turn away.. Praying for wisdom and peace my friend . God bless you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

