Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Carol A. Hand

I remember my impatience
As I awaited other springs
Yet this year I wished
For very different things

“Let the snow remain a bit longer
I’ve just a little more to write
Please extend the storytelling season
For at least another night”

DSC01290

Photo: April 5, 2016

As I wrote the final stories
The snowflakes fell today
My first draft’s finally finished
And neatly stored away

This draft is a humble heart-felt offering
Of gratitude to those who shared their stories
To those who spoke of times of pain and laughter
To those whose lives reflected suffering and glories

May your stories touch the hearts of others…

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

25 thoughts on “Tuesday, April 5, 2016”

    1. Thank you for your kind words, Bernadette. It is a relief to have this part of the task done, although I’m not sure about the next steps yet. 🙂

      (I appreciate knowing that you sent an email. I just checked in all 3 gmail folders and the spam filter and couldn’t find it there. Gmail has turned out to be an overwhelming mess to manage. Here’s another address that’s not as cluttered – chand@ntd.net. I don’t check it as often, but it gets a lot less traffic. I do look forward to hearing from you, so please resend.)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. First drat finished! I know that wonderful feeling, Carol. I’m so happy for you. You’ve work long and hard and now one step closer to sharing with others. The snow looks beautiful 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congrats on completing the first draft, Carol!

    I would imagine, from here forward, there is much more hard work ahead? So don’t let the green grass, flowers and birdies distract you, since I doubt it will still be snowing in May and June;-)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Dave. I must say that I feel like a sprinter who’s just finished a marathon. I need time to breathe and reflect so I can decide what I want to do next. There are so many projects I postponed to reach this point … 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can’t imagine writing a text like you have taken on.

        I wrote more in my first comment but then erased.

        When I compose, which is very sporadic anymore, I seem possessed. But as soon as the piece has been drafted out, then I seem to slow down. And I need this slowing down, so when I go back to edit, if you will, I have a renewed vigor for the music.

        So I think it is only natural that you give yourself some breathing space now. Your book needs you to be refreshed, before you begin the editing process.

        Relax! Get caught up. The book isn’t going away!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words, Kate. Even though the first draft is done, I find myself still grateful for the ever-present snow this week. It’s giving me an excuse to take my time cleaning up my yard and planting seeds inside 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

