Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Carol A. Hand

We all are teachers – we needn’t doubt it
Enablers or destroyers of dreams
We don’t even need to think about it
It’s so much easier than it seems

teacher 2

With our every thought, word and deed
powerful creators – we help fashion the quality of our world
by sowing seeds of compassion or feeding competition and greed.
Through minds and hearts and hands our intentions are unfurled

Lately I watch the thoughts that flow continuously through my mind
sometimes angry, sometimes judgmental – these stem from fear and insecurity
I’m learning. “Look within for answers. Until you find them just be kind.
The world can’t bear more violence – live the joy and compassion you’d like to see.”

dancer 3

Note: As I consider the possibility of once again “teaching” at a small college this fall, I have been reflecting about what that really means to me. I’m determined to avoid being a “professor” of knowledge. I want to use this opportunity to continue exploring how to encourage students to value themselves and what they know, and to plant the seed that each of us can find our own path to knowledge wisdom.

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tuesday, April 12, 2016

  1. sojourner says:

    “I’m determined to avoid being a “professor” of knowledge. I want to use this opportunity to continue exploring how to encourage students to value themselves and what they know, and to plant the seed that each of us can find our own path to knowledge wisdom.”

    And this is why you will be of great value to these young people, Carol!

    Hopefully, this college’s administration will appreciate what you are dong for these students and not get in your way!

    Liked by 4 people

  2. desilef says:

    If you can stand returning to another institution, the people lucky enough to experience your class will benefit immensely, not just from the content but your approach to learning may disconcert some at first but will be a lifelong influence and model for many.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Diane. I agree that it’s worth a try even if the institution proves to be meddlesome. I want to see if I can use “teaching research” more effectively as a foundation for stimulating students to think critically and creatively about possibilities for addressing emerging issues…

      Like

  3. dolphin says:

    Another powerful blog, Carol! I agree that the students you teach will be richer for it. Hopefully, they will take to heart your wisdom.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Norman Pilon says:

    I had missed the ‘note’ appended to the end of the poem, and then reading the comments, I was puzzled and just couldn’t understand how I had missed the ‘point’ which had been so obvious to everyone else. “How do they do it,” I thought, “and what’s wrong with me. They can’t possibly all be psychics.” Then I saw the ‘note.’ Phew.

    Well, unfortunately, nowdays if wan’t to have a substantive impact in the world, you have to do it from within an institution or bureaucracy, preferably one whose primary task is ‘educational.’ The days of ‘gentlemen’ scientists and philosophers are pretty much past. So otherwise, what you may have to contribute will most likely remain invisible to the mainstream, overshadowed by the big organizations that pretty much control all channels of communication that shape mass perceptions and behavior.

    So yeah, as meddlesome as the overseers and tattletales and busybodies might be, your students will be more under your influence than theirs, at least while you have them captive, but what is more likely, enchanted by and attentive to your guidance. You’ll have a platform, you’ll be able to use it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your wonderful humor, Norman. I’m still laughing as I type my reply. Sadly, status and positionality still convey credibility – few listen otherwise. And sadly it is mostly institutions that are able to award these positions. My insignificance to the institution will be a welcomed buffer…

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Leya says:

    This sounds great – that is what students need. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sha'Tara says:

    “The world can’t bear more violence – live the joy and compassion you’d like to see.”
    That’s it, the living of it, and as I say to those who talk to me about their beliefs, “Don’t tell me, show me.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Indeed we are all teachers and seed planters. This is something everyone should read for we are all works in progress, and hopefully for the better of ourselves and others. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

