Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Carol A. Hand

Kneeling on earth planting seeds
And playing in the dirt
Envisioning new life emerging
to help heal a world of hurt

DSC00882

Duluth Garden – August 2015

These clumsy gnarled hands
sowing each seed with care
hoping that winds of war and weather abate
allowing life to once again bloom everywhere

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

25 thoughts on “Wednesday, April 13, 2016”

  1. Gardening can be an immensely rewarding experience. You experience directly how all life is in its deepest essence symbiotic, how everything depends upon everything else in interacting proximity, how it is possible to intuit the needs of even something that is not of your own species, but of which you become an essential part, and have it respond to your ministrations in lush vigor and beauty.

    Chantal is the real gardener, here. She is attentive to her many flowers, shrubs and trees in way that I haven’t been yet, but to which I’m gradually coming around.

    She has carefully chosen varieties robust enough to endure our northern clime and in such a way that from the earliest days of spring, which don’t really manifest until about mid-May, something is always flowering even onto and a bit beyond the first killing frosts of mid-October.

    I’ll send you some pics now and again as the season progresses . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you sharing important insights about the symbolism of gardening, Norman, as well as delightful stories about Chantel’s gardening endeavors. I send my best wishes to you both. 🙂

      (I too will wait until mid-May or later to transplant the things I sowed today in little covered flats under a grow light.)

      And, I look forward to seeing your photos of your gardens’ progress…

      Like

      1. Hi Carol,

        Hope things are better with your grandson. How are things progressing for him? Is he back home? What of mom? What of you?

        I’ve put up some pics of where Chantal’s gardening stands at this moment. Thought of you this morning as I was putting down some mulch.

        I’m not that well practiced with a camera, so please don’t judge me too severely in this respect.

        The spring has been late and cold. We’re only about one week into frost-free nights. So the flowerbeds are yet pretty bare. Still, only week in, and the change is remarkable. It is truly magical.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you for checking in, Norman and updating me on your (Chantal’s) garden 🙂 . It’s delightful to hear from you.

          My grandson is home and seems to be doing well, taking the changes in stride. He’s put on a little of the weight he lost, and he’s playing on his rugby team.

          I’ve just begun the editing process (slowly), balanced with spending the mornings working outside in gardens. I don’t plan on posting much. Most days my thoughts are focused on the best way to approach the stories I’m working with. And fortunately, I have a friend who is reading my edited work and giving me feedback. I may explore finding a local writers’ group, too.

          Your weather sounds a bit like ours, although the past week has been warm during the day and just above frosty at night. But it’s been so dry until this evening. Still, I am waiting to plant vegetables until the end of May, early June.

          I look forward to seeing your photos of Chantal’s gardens, and I’m deeply grateful for your thoughtfulness. I send my best wishes to you both ❤

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Planting and harvesting, are certainly activities related to the cycle of life … in the same way stations accompany this cycle… And Nature keeps on moving, always— it likes gerunds somehow. It is continuous. Human destructive interferences can damage and disrupt this miraculous continuity… but if it could also help the cycle starts again when prosperous , creative intentions are involved. ,
    Beautiful reading. Thanks so much for sharing, dear Carol. Sending you all my best wishes!. Aquileana 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So very true the importance of planting is so underestimate these days. Seeds could be our future currency after all. Everyone should know how to grow for themselves, something to teach in our schools maybe, better than some of the crap they teach at the moment 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Crucial insights about the importance of seeds and gardening, Equality. I do try to share what I learn with my grandchildren and I’ve noticed the gardens that the schools here have begun in recent years – a hopeful sign!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Some UK schools do but out of the curriculum unfortunately. British schools have a disappointing outlook, heading like our NHS. But with Hugh strikes next week maybe people will wake up a little.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m glad to hear that schools in the UK are doing something. One of the high schools here has a greenhouse, classes, and faculty mentorship. Students facilitate an annual plant sale at the beginning of growing season (which coincides with the end of the school year here in our northern climate).

          I hope you post more about the upcoming strike, Equality. I couldn’t find anything about it on google…

          Like

Leave a Reply

