Finding Moments of Joy during Challenging Times

Carol A. Hand

I awake with thoughts of my grandson and an ache in my heart
to the sound of chainsaws buzzing, felling a neighbor’s trees
still I arise and find strength to play my part

Although sunny, it’s one of the heavier days
I breathe and listen deeply and hear my parakeets’ song
then I remember I can still sow kindness and love in many little ways

I can celebrate another Earth Day
by letting my grandson know I love him
and by repurposing salvage and old landfill in a healthier way

Washing boards salvaged from an old fence

retaining wall

Digging up buried asphalt and concrete that stifles growth

retaining wall 2

Removing old buckthorn tree stumps

retaining wall 1

Repurposing old materials to build retaining walls to prevent erosion

DSC01336

And building a movable stand for a grow light

grow light stand

Planting organic seeds

DSC01319

And celebrating the wonder of life in the first kale plant to emerge

DSC01342

 

Even in times of sadness it’s a moment by moment choice
to live in hopeless despair
or give love and new life a voice

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Finding Moments of Joy during Challenging Times

  1. Gama says:

    Good job, nice post👍👌

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lara/Trace says:

    YOU are an inspiration! WOW!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. nellyandherdaughter says:

    Carol this is so beautifully written and so uplifting, I think you are a wonderful person. Thank you for coming in to my life. 💛

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hildegard says:

    Boy, if your grandson is anything like you, you know that he is going to overcome this current challenge with grit and determination! Praying for him, and that he will get the proper treatments. Today someone sent me this link to a TEDxSF lecture, about living in the moment, with beautiful photography. I think it ties in beautifully with your outlook: https://youtu.be/gXDMoiEkyuQ and I hope it brings you a blessing to your day! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much for such kind and lovely comments, Hildegard, and for sharing such a profoundly beautiful video. I love Louie Schwartzberg’s work – it never fails to bring tears of awe and gratitude for the wonders of life. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. sojourner says:

    I echo the above comments, Carol!
    You, your grandson and family are on our minds and hearts!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. wolfegeo says:

    Absolutely beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. hsampson says:

    Beautiful Carol!! Thanks for sharing this!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Margaret Mair says:

    I’m glad you chose to “give love and new life a voice”. Thank you. Wishing you well.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. There is joy is every nook and cranny. We can simply be open to its abundance and revel in it. Nice post, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Every single effort matters, Carol. They add up. A wonderful conscious way to spend Earth Day.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Bernadette says:

    You celebrated Earth Day in the manner that is the most meaningful. You are, as always, an example to everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. smilecalm says:

    sorry to hear of his condition
    & the sadness it brings, Carol!
    may the miracle of insulin & other medicines
    keep him healthy & happy.
    my nephew, diagnosed with type 1 when 12
    has been under control & well for the last 12 years.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. mytiturk says:

    Chi miigwetch, Carol. I wish you a fruitful summer with many blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. imaliworld says:

    Thanks for such a beautiful post,, touched

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

