Farewell for a Little While

Carol A. Hand

It’s time for me to take a hiatus from blogging for a while. On Sunday, May 1 (2016), I plan to begin the editing process for my 48-chapter, 438-page manuscript. (Yes, I counted. It’s more than 200,000 words.) Between then and now, there are six books I need to read.

Although it was possible for me to remain in the blogosphere as I worked on writing the draft manuscript, editing will require a different intensity of focus. I can’t easily transition between cultures. Because I try to listen (or read) deeply in order to understand other perspectives, it often means losing my own language and way of seeing the world for hours or days. And this time, I need to remain “in culture” so I can finish by July. I’ll require some time to develop an updated syllabus for a course on research by August.

Please know that while I’m gone, I will miss each and every one of you. I have learned to look forward to your scholarship, poetry, advocacy, wisdom, photos, artwork, humor, creativity, and kindness. Many of you have become dear friends.

You all do light up my life. Chi Miigwetch (Ojibwe thank you very much).

Ava's 9th birthday

Voices from the Margins will remain here if you choose to visit older posts and I hope to visit your blogs when I can. Until then, I send you all my best wishes and leave you with music – Mahk Jchi (Heartbeat Drum Song) by Ulali.

97 thoughts on “Farewell for a Little While”

  1. Thank you for your words of wisdom, your kindness, and most of all encouragement. I hope the editing goes smoothly and I look forward to hearing your book has been completed. I for one would be honored to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish you the best with your book. it does take some serious concentration. I hope to see you back in the late summer, having successfully completed your work. I will miss your posts and kind remarks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Dale. Yes, the real work does begin now. I look forward to catching up on your lovely blog when I return. Until then, I send my best wishes. 🙂

      Like

  3. I wish you the best with your project, Carol. I know how difficult it is to try to do blogging while focused on something else completely. I am just completing a five month project for the UN. Thank you for this beautiful song and video! Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey Carol, don’t slip too far into work. Sometimes it’s just another way to forget. It’s spring time after all. And nothing is more important than honouring the seasons and gifts nature present to us. That includes our loved ones. I am not saying this to you but more myself. Take care of your manuscript. I’m going to miss your posts. Take care. Bob

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your wise advice, Bob. I look forward to having time to edit and garden as a balance.
      And having time to figure out things my grandson can help me do. He’s eager to be and feel helpful. I will still find time to visit your blog. I don’t want to miss your exquisite photos and thoughtful posts. I send my best wishes to you and your family.

      Like

  5. It’s wonderful you’ve reached this point, Carol, and I admire your for knowing when it’s smart and necessary to step back so you can make a strong finish on that book. Wishing you much love light and positive energy. Can’t wait for your return. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comments and many kindnesses, Bernadette. I hope to visit your blog to keep up with your creative initiatives that raise important issues and bring people together. In the meantime, I send my best wishes.

      Like

  6. Mahk Jchi is a favorite – together, the voices of Ulali create a resonant, nurturing sound-place that goes on forever. I wish you happy and rewarding journeys on your writing sojourn, Carol, and look forward to the tales upon your return. Wlibaamkani – safe travels!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It took me two minutes to get past all the comments;-)

    I echo a comment above, “May the editing move along quickly. I will look forward to your return.”

    I go crazy editing these little posts, so I can’t imagine what you have facing you.

    Take care! And I hope your grandson is doing well!

    Dave

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for your many kindnesses, Dave. I will miss you and our dialogues.

      And I must admit that I have decided to take on the daunting task of editing now for my grandson. He always asks if my book is done and how many words are in it. And if he has the courage and will power to face difficult challenges, I need to do the same. I send you my best wishes, dear friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Carol, I wish you well, so well, on this next part of your journey. I’ve been grateful for your work and also for your comments on mine. I trust that our paths will join again some day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s always a delight to hear from you, Pat. The depth and beauty of your work has always touched my heart and expanded my thinking. Thank you for your kind words. I trust we will continue to be connected.

      Like

  9. Carol, Of course we’ll miss you, but good luck — I hate editing, it’s so hard to know when/where to stop!
    But tell me when you’ve had time to sleep, far less blog and read while doing all this writing, as well as normal human activities? I’m a wimp, and never do catch up or keep up. Be well, and come back to us if and when you can. – Linda

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely comments and for always visiting this site, Linda. I will miss you, too, but I will continue to visit from time to time and read your blog. I still have a lot of older posts to go, and so much more to learn from you 🙂

      I send my best wishes ❤

      Like

  10. Dear Carol, My old pappy and I shall miss your always inspiring poems and messages. We wish you good progress with your editing, and look forward to reading your book. Going back now to listen to the “Heartbeat Drum Song!” Bon Voyage!! Buster and walt.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely words, Buster. I’ll miss your analysis of the campaign season, but will try to stop by periodically. In the meantime, I send my best wishes to you and Walt 🙂

      Like

  11. Good luck with your manuscript Carol. Thank you for the Heart Drum Beat Song by Ulali… I love this song… I have it on an album and it was so nice to here it with the all beautiful images of the people. To all our relations – peace and love, Bruce

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Good luck with your book, so excited for you and really going to miss you! Ahhh I see am late and maybe you will find my message here in time.
    Sending bundles of best wishes and all the positive energies from my side! All the best and hope to see you soon again!!!
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your always thoughtful comments, Writer from the East. I appreciate your blessings and send my best wishes to you, too. I look forward to having time to catch up on your important and inspiring work. ❤

      Like

  13. I look forward to your return 🙂 Love this music clip I myself am start my shamnic journey this week at a local shamanic drumming group. Signs have been poping up more and more recently and this just confirms it :).

    All the best with the book, sedning you lots of reiki energy and see you soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Hello, Carol, Hope you read this comment (wow, you sure have a bunch of admirers), but we didn’t know how to contact you outer wise – old pappy isn’t too tech savvy! Anyway, we were just wondering how that (Ugh) editing task is coming along – we hope very well. Buster and pap.
    PS: Thanks for “liking” our little commentaries on the “Prez” campaigning!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s always a pleasure to hear from you Buster 🙂 . (My email address is listed on the submissions page – carolahand@gmail.com in case you choose to reach me that way, but this works, too. I still read blogs on my “break” times, and I still write when I’m inspired, I just don’t post anything…)

      To be honest, editing is going slow because the weather is just right for getting gardens ready for end of May planting. And on the rainy or too hot days (yesterday it was 93F here), I sit inside and read the books I wanted to finish first. I’m grateful for the luxury of choosing what to do on these few days of early May…

      Like

Leave a Reply

