Differential Power and Indian Child Welfare: Part One

This first installment of a larger work was posted a year ago to deepen the dialogue about hegemony. Some messages bear repeating…

Voices from the Margins

Carol A. Hand

Years ago, I was advised to submit one of my university exam papers for publication even though it was too long to be accepted as a journal article, and too short to be a book (Hand, 1999). I decided to share it here, with minor edits and illustrations added, in hopes that it might be of interest and stimulate thoughtful dialogue.

************

INTRODUCTION: THEORETICAL OVERVIEW

Many theories have been formulated to explain child abuse and neglect within what is now the United States. Recently, an eleven-year-old Ojibwe youth won an award for an essay he wrote to explain his perspective as a foster child. (Please refer to Endnote 1 for more information about the request to include this work in my writing.) In his attempt to make sense of his experiences, this young man’s essay expresses both his vision of the future and his theory…

View original post 4,724 more words

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Guest Author/ Reblog. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Differential Power and Indian Child Welfare: Part One

  1. smilecalm says:

    Thanks for sharing such deep, seemingly endless suffering
    in the past, imprisoning those in the present
    and very possibly, those in the future.
    I can understand this pain, Carol.
    Makes me wonder if the guns, germs & steel
    continuum can progress now
    into compassion, forgiveness
    & survival?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your deep and thoughtful comments, David. I wonder if the solution is in the collective stories we tell ourselves and each other about what is valuable and what is possible. Is the purpose of life to amass gold and power, or to care for the earth and each other? Sadly, I think too many of us merely accept what we’re taught in schools and by the mainstream media…

      Like

  2. Sometimes I have to wonder if mankind ever makes much progress at all in the things that really matter whereas it has the propensity to perpetuate and escalate the things wrong with the world. Sadly I tthink the answer to my quandary is, “no, man’s seven deadly sins are alive and well and thriving.” Love and hugs, Natalie 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. M E Cheshier says:

    Very insightful!!! Thanks you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. M E Cheshier says:

    PS>… and so sad 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

