Sunday, May 15, 2016 – Reflections

Carol A. Hand

Which reality should we allow to define a life?
A vision that freezes it in time as one of darkness and strife
or one that only focuses on eternal mornings of hope and light
without the power of healing rainbows or the starry, moon-lit night?

stormy sky

Being tossed and blown by life’s powerful storms
Teaches that they often leave a stronger magic that transforms
pruning desires for superficial transitory goals
leaving only gratitude for the beauty, resilience and kindness of other souls

aadi and thom

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunday, May 15, 2016 – Reflections

  1. Lara/Trace says:

    I strive to be balanced in both worlds Carol. What a beautiful poem!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. wolfegeo says:

    There was a time when I was afraid to let light into my life. Afraid to hope for fear it would be torn away from me. Overtime something in me changed and having seen the darkness I appreciate the light so much more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Another loverly poem! Thank you, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sue says:

    ‘…Being tossed and blown by life’s powerful storms
    Teaches that they often leave a stronger magic that transforms..’

    storms can be so refreshing..clearing the air..

    love your poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. desilef says:

    I sat on the bus today thinking of you and hoping you’d post something so I could send you some love in the comments as your grandson has been on my mind and I hope he’s doing well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kindness, Diane. I’m deeply grateful to hear from you – and for your support, encouragement, and friendship. (My grandson is doing well overall.) I send my best wishes to you, too ❤

      Like

  6. As always Carol, the most beautiful, positive and uplifting words. Thank you for a lovely beginning to a lovely day. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Rajagopal says:

    Life progresses through the play of opposites, Carol, and the truth is well depicted in your reflections.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A writer from the East says:

    Dear Carol, this is truly a very beautiful poem and so thought provoking! My spiritual mentors and Sufis have taught me to allow my soul to embrace the storms in order to receive its rewards that are noted in your phrase.. gratitude for the beauty, resilience and kindness of other souls!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

