Reflections – Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Carol A. Hand

A cold
grey and misty morn

yet birdsong fills the air

blooming
flowers as sentinels adorn

reminding me
there’s life and beauty

everywhere

 

DSC01435

A gift poppy that just appeared

And a song that celebrates “Bird Song” (by Wailin’ Jennys)

I hear a bird chirping up in the sky,
I’d like to be free like that, spread my wings so high.
I see the river flowing, water running by,
I’d like to be that river, see what I might find.
I feel the wind a-blowing, slowly changing time,
I’d like to be that wind, I’d swirl and shape the sky.
I smell the flowers blooming, opening for spring,
I’d like to be those flowers, open to everything.
I feel the seasons change: the leaves, the snow and sun.
I’d like to be those seasons, made up and undone.
I taste the living earth, the seeds that grow within,
I’d like to be that earth, a home where life begins.
I see the moon a-rising, reaching into night,
I’d like to be that moon, a knowing, glowing light.
I know the silence as the world begins to wake,
I’d like to be that silence as the morning breaks.
(Wailin’ Jennys – Bird Song Lyrics, MetroLyrics)

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Reflections – Tuesday, June 14, 2016

  1. Lovely and uplifting Carol. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lara/Trace says:

    Beauty finds YOU! XOXOX

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Bernadette says:

    Everyone needs the reminder of that beauty this week. Thanks and if you get a chance perhaps you would post something tomorrow at the Salon?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Bernadette. (And thank you for the invitation to post for Senior Salon. Let me see if I have any older posts that might be appropriate.)

      Like

  4. Norman Pilon says:

    That was rather beautiful. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks, Carol, we needed that uplift!! To the Bird Song: Old pappy and I say, “Just do it!”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Reflections – Wednesday, June 15, 2016 | Voices from the Margins

  7. Hildegard says:

    Absolutely beautiful and uplifting! Thanks! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

