Reflections (Literally) – Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Carol A. Hand

I should be editing today, but I promised my granddaughter I would share this story. We didn’t have a chance to work on it together so I’m writing it for her.

More fierce storms rolled through on Saturday evening when my granddaughter was spending the night. She grew frightened as the sky darkened and warnings about severe storms headed our way sounded on the radio.

She was on the verge of tears. “Ahma, where can we hide?

I have another idea, Sweetie,” I replied. “Let’s go outside and offer tobacco with a prayer. I’ll teach you how. The lightening and rain haven’t come yet so there’s still time.”

I showed her the garden I had chosen, but she found her own special garden by the ninebark bush. When she finished, she smiled and we went inside and read a story.

When the thunder and lightning ended, and the rain abated for a moment, we took our little dog out. I laughed when I saw the huge puddle in the alley behind the house. It was covered with little popping bubbles.

Ahma,” my granddaughter joyfully shouted when she saw the puddle. “The puddle is tooting! That’s what happens when people are swimming and toot (fart). It makes bubbles in the water.”

Just then, the rain began again, and bubbles appeared on all of the puddles the whole length of the alley. My granddaughter laughed and danced with delight despite the rain.

The next day, she sang a song about “The Tooting Puddle Bubbles.” (Try saying that fast!) We went outside the next morning to look for the bubbles, but they were gone. The biggest puddle was still there, though, and we took some pictures.

I’ve gone a little overboard posting them…

puddle 1 2016

The illusion of bushes, buildings and fences growing out of the asphalt intrigues me.

puddle 2 2016

puddle 3 2016

Ava and Pinto 2016

May we all find simple moments for gratitude and laughter during and after storms along our path.

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Reflections (Literally) – Tuesday, June 28, 2016

  1. I’m smiling, Carol. How sweet!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lovely story, thanks Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lara/Trace says:

    That was fantastic! Love you! TootToot

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sojourner says:

    Oh to be this way again; to be freed from my jaded, negative nature, to be the way I once was a thousand years ago!

    Maybe in the next stage, the next realm, if there be one?

    Beautiful, Carol!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. A delightful story and a beautiful granddaughter! Blessings & love, Bette

    Liked by 1 person

  6. thejuicenut says:

    Beautiful photos – it’s been raining a lot here, the puddles barely have time to dry up before it rains again. Thankfully no thunder or lightning though – yet! Thank you for sharing your story. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Bernadette says:

    The delight of small children in the simplest of things in life should be a guide to joy for all of us.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful post, Carol. Your granddaughter sounds adorable and full of joy despite her moments of nervousness about the storm. A lovely wish for gratitude and laughter 🙂 Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. wolfegeo says:

    I’m grinning from ear to ear. Thanks to each of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sha'Tara says:

    Lovely, evocative reflections, and cute granddaughter and doggie. Quote: “May we all find simple moments for gratitude and laughter during and after storms along our path.” Indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love your stories! And I love that you found a way to calm your granddaughter and that she eventually found joy and gladness in the bubbles. Such a heartwarming story to end my day on. Love and hugs, N 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  12. You`ve done it again! I have started my day with a smile and immense gratitude for a world with people such as you in it. Thank you Carol. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  13. underswansea says:

    Wonderful post Carol! I will be sure to point out the ‘tooting’ puddles to Cooper when we get caught in a rainstorm. 🙂 I used to tell my daughters, the rainwater would make their hair extra soft. They would catch the rain in buckets and pour the ice cold water over their heads. They said it worked! Take care. Bob

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind words and delightful story about rain water, Bob. I know I heard this when I was young, but I can’t remember who told me. I don’t think I ever tried it on purpose, though, but I do remember having softer hair after being in the rain. I wish you many wonderful discoveries and adventures with Cooper. 🙂

      Like

  14. inesephoto says:

    A good laugh during the storm keeps our spirits up 🙂 My Grandmother told me that it is a sign that the rain won’t last long if the puddles are ‘tooting”.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Annika Perry says:

    Lovely post and such are the delights and wonders of ordinary life. Brought a smile to my face this morning…

    Liked by 1 person

  16. A lovely story, Carol, with a great message.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Love the reflection of the sky in the clear water puddle.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. dolphin says:

    Reblogged this on Dolphin and commented:
    Puddles tooting…haha….I love how the young ones look at the world! I love Carol’s imagination of bushes growing from asphalt. I think of a picture a former boss had in her office — it was a *cough* weed growing up through a crack in the pavement. I think the word underneath was “determination” or something similar. I think of that picture every time I see nature triumphantly growing through such adversity. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I love the way you helped your grand-daughter deal with her fear of the storm and then the joys of bubble puddles afterwards. Precious – and she’ll remember this for a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Oh this is just fantastic. Just think: would you have taken time to photograph the puddles if not for your granddaughter? You caught some amazing reflections in them that, if not for the toot-check, you would have missed.
    And her reaction is priceless! My daughter would have said the same. That shift from fear to delight can occur so quickly in a child; I wish adults could switch emotional mindsets so easily. What an amazing gift you gave your granddaughter through this experience. I wouldn’t be surprised if she wants to stay with you for the next several thunderstorms. You’re a most blessed woman, indeed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for such lovely, thoughtful comments, Jean. It’s funny. My granddaughter did stay with me last night and severe storms were again predicted. Instead of being afraid, she asked if we could go out to put tobacco down again. Se we did, and the storms went north and south of us. (Of course, they usually do. It seems to be a function of our geographic location…)

      Liked by 1 person

  21. theurbanblender says:

    Grandchildren are an inspiration for storytelling. You can be a child again too. Lovely story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

