Reflections – Sunday, July 10, 2016

Carol A. Hand

Sitting on my back step a few days ago
A musical voice drew my attention
Oh you’re so beautiful, you make me so happy.”
I peeked through the fence and saw my neighbor,
turning away from the fence to walk home.
She talks to the flowers and plants in my gardens
and always touches my heart with her lovely spirit.

I ran out to invite her into the yard
She already knew about the geranium –
another neighbor rescued it from an early death
and left it as a gift early in the spring
What more could one ask of life than friends
who share the love of life and beauty?

Sara's geranium

Sara’s Gift Blooming

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Reflections – Sunday, July 10, 2016

  1. Hi, Carol, It is always such a pleasure to read you cheerful messages. They provide a happy reminder that there is still much beauty to be observed, and are a much needed offset to the daily pounding of horrible news we receive from the “media!” With your permission, old pappy and I are going to reblog your “rescued” geranium.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Reblogged this on Buster's Two Cents and commented:
    A welcome and beautiful offset to our daily dose of horrors from the “media.”

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It is so nice to read this kind of post. I myself do not have a green thumb. My sister on the other hand can bring a dead plant back to life. I do call her for instructions if I am trying again to keep some plants or flowers in my Condo. I follow her instructions yet the poor thing dies in the end. The sad part is I love flowers and plants and beautiful gardens, so I keep trying.
    I was shopping with my husband and headed toward the gardening area.
    “Pat don’t tell me you’re going to buy something here.”
    “Well, I thought I would try once more.”
    As we entered the area he said.
    “Pat, I can hear the flowers and plants saying, please not me, not me.”
    “Very funny Mike.” So far the plant lives. :o)

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your entertaining story about your “not-green” thumb, Pat. I’m grateful to hear that your newest plant is surviving. I wish it (and all other you may acquire) a long, healthy life 🙂

      Like

  4. Annika Perry says:

    Carol, thank you so much for sharing this beauty and joy in life with us all. Has me smiling…my grandmother always loved geraniums and a few weeks ago I bought some off the market. Since then they’ve flourished, flowering non-stop. I might not thank them aloud for their beauty and pleasure they give me, but that’s what I feel every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lovely post, Carol. I believe the Earth is sentient and feels our good will, gratefulness, and disdain, blooms or withers by our intentions. How lovely to have a neighbor who understands that, whether she believes it or not. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. thejuicenut says:

    My grandmother also grew geraniums and she gave me my first pot plants. One white, one red, one pink. I now have geraniums in my own garden. I have an orchid that my mum gave me that hasn’t flowered for 4 years, looked half-dead and was on its way to the bin when I noticed buds again. This happens every year but they fail to open. Once again, I thought I would give it one more chance, and now it has 6 blooms on it! I praise it every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lovely, Carol. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Bernadette says:

    What a delight to know someone who loves and praises all of God’s creations.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh how I wished I could walk by your garden and get invited in! What a treat that would be! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

