Reflections – Friday, July 22, 2016

Carol A. Hand

It wasn’t until the wee hours of the morning yesterday when I finally called it a day. I had checked the National Weather site before shutting down my computer. I noticed the long line of “red” storms (indicating “severe”) racing toward Duluth from the west. It’s been a common occurrence this year, so I climbed upstairs to bed unconcerned.

13510779_10208148143998491_3757591408488790509_n

Photo: Duluth, June 19, 2016 (photographer, Jnana Hand)

Just an hour later, I was awakened by thunder booming and rain pounding on the roof. I turned over and fell back asleep.

By the time I awoke a few hours later, it was sunny and peaceful. Just a few birch and willow branches marked the storm’s passing, something I’m accustomed to on this windy side of town. I picked up the branches and went back to editing another chapter and then wrote yesterday’s blog post. It wasn’t until I received an email from my daughter who’s travelling out west that I realized the magnitude of the storm. In other sections of the city, crews were already busy working to clean up the devastation from the hurricane-strength winds that spared my neighborhood.

A metaphor for the times in which we live. The storms may hit with little warning. Sometimes we’re spared, and other times not. Some things are beyond our control.

moon

Moon Light Breaking Through, July 18, 2016

But what I do find heartening is the ability of people to come together in times of crisis to help each other. It underscores a truth we often overlook – people are basically good, as Sam Cook points out in his essay about Duluth neighbors coming together.

It’s something I see every day in the blogging community. It’s something we help each other remember with every story and photo we share.

Thank you all for building global connections and documenting truth, hope and beauty in the world despite the dark storms that rage around us.

***

 

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Adversity and Resilience and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Reflections – Friday, July 22, 2016

  1. I agree, Carol, people are basically good. That’s why the powers that be work so hard at dividing us and spreading fear of The Other.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sojourner says:

    Thank you, Carol, for doing the same and more!

    I love Bridge Over Troubled Waters. I haven’t heard this for years. I will listen to it later today.

    It was on one of the first albums I bought for the person who I believed, at the time, was my first and last love. Fond memories of a time that was also troubled, but the world was young and all things were still possible.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Margaret Mair says:

    And thank you too, Carol. I’m glad this storm missed you and that it brought others together – though I wish that no-one needed to deal with the aftermath of its fury.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind and lovely comments, Margaret. It is sad that it often takes tragedies to bridge differences among people. Like you, I hope for times when creative visions of what could be become the unifying force that brings people together..

      Liked by 1 person

  4. First, I’m glad you were not blasted by a bad storm! Secondly I love the way you tied this is too community and friendship and the support we find in each on in our blogs and stories. I’m so pleased to be a part of your life and stories. Thank you Carol for all that you are and for all that you bless us with. Love and hugs, N 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your concern about the storm, Natalie. I’m sorry to hear about the unrelenting heat you have to deal with. Weather affects us all in different ways, doesn’t it?

      And thank you so much for your lovely comments. Love and hugs to you, too, dear friend ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Aquileana says:

    As always, a moving read ….`The storms may hit with little warning. Sometimes we’re spared, and other times not. Some things are beyond our control´…. so well stated and true, dear Carol… thanks for sharing your thoughts with us… love, Aquileana 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

