Reflections – Saturday, July 30, 2016

Carol A. Hand

Ah, the challenge of maintaining my discipline to continue editing! I’ve been through this chapter at least twice already and I’m still finding typos, verb tense issues, and sentences that don’t flow.

Escaping to my side porch, looking up at the sky,
feeling thoughts calm as I watch from my retreat.
While puffy cumulus clouds slowly pass by
I try to envision the earth spinning beneath my feet,
the passage of earth orbiting the sun.
I’m just left feeling dizzy before I am done,
but nonetheless ready to continue this onerous task.
When will it be finished? Oh please. Don’t ask…

***

clouds

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Reflections – Saturday, July 30, 2016

  1. Chris says:

    I know the feeling. I’m not a professional writer but I self-published a family history and gave copies to all the family members for Christmas a few years ago. I proofread it and proofread it, I had my former teacher proofread it. I had it printed. And every single time I idly flick through it, I find a typo or a phrase I’m not happy with. ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sojourner says:

    I am not envious, Carol. I get tired just editing my tiny posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. underswansea says:

    Hi Carol. Everyone thinks insiration for writing or art comes from some magical inner source. To a point it is true. But to make it look easy takes gruelling hard work and dedication. I picked a gallon of huckleberries this morning on the side of a mountain. Willow barked to keep the bears away. The horseflies bit me though my shirt. My back ached. Once I was home. My Nephew and his daughters came to visit. They are from the city. I gave them the berries and they were so happy. Their faces lit up when they tasted them. It was a good feeling. Take care Carol. Bob

    Liked by 2 people

    • A gallon is a lot of work, Bob! I love the story you shared about your berry-picking adventure and the rewards for hard work lovingly done. I agree with your insights about art. It looks easy. That’s what I used to believe about writing a book… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. smilecalm says:

    with such beauty presented
    i’d almost hate to see
    it end 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, thank you for your kindness, David. You know, editing could last forever – what we create is only part of a learning journey that perhaps never ends. It’s never perfect. How we see things and who we are changes. We’re never quite the same as we were just a moment before…

      Like

  5. A good proofreading technique: read your work out loud. That way, you are more likely to catch missing/repeated words and awkward sentences.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Loved your little escape and know how tedious a chore that kind of thing can be. I just keep telling myself to keep putting one foot in front of the other and trudge on. I know you’ll make it too!!! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Bernadette says:

    Well, at least the stress of editing has not made you lose your sense of humor.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. inesephoto says:

    Earth is still orbiting the Sun, so you will be all right 🙂 Recharge your batteries, take another deep breath, smile and go back to editing 😉 Life is good! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  9. nux says:

    OMG! I have fallen in love to your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Robbie says:

    you were blessed from the great creator with words!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Robbie. Words come when they will. I can’t make them flow, but if I don’t write when the inspiration strikes, the rest of my day is often unproductive. ❤

      Like

  11. Robbie says:

    they must swirl around in your head all day-amazing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

