Reflections – Friday, August 19, 2016

Carol A. Hand

A morning visitor, just my speed
for ample macro focusing time
A little slug looking for an early feed
as it secretes its trail of shimmering slime.

IMG_0575

A little creature much maligned
I admit I’m guilty of this, it’s true.
I know I honestly wouldn’t mind
if you only ate weeds instead of feasting on my gardens, too.

This year I’ve tried something new
to help you know what’s not in bounds
I routinely circle my gardens to deter your crew
with carefully spread coffee grounds.

IMG_0576

It seems to work for you and me
We’re able to coexist peacefully…

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Reflections – Friday, August 19, 2016

  1. isabellaesthermariarose says:

    I will certainly try your deterrent, Carol. I wouldn’t hurt them for the world. I put cat food out for the hedgehogs that visit every night [four of them at present]. The cat food is all eaten but the slugs remain!! So obviously hedgehogs prefer cat food to slugs!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a challenge to deal with them, Izzy. Last year, they devastated my vegetable gardens. My tomatoes were all bitten, and the bean and green pepper plants were skeletons. This year, I was tempted to use chemicals, but just couldn’t do it. And then, someone told me about coffee grounds. So far, it’s worked.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Very thoughtful. Thank you, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sojourner says:

    If slug and human, then why not human and human?!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Debra says:

    Egg shells if you’ve got them crumbled and placed around each plant. heheheheh Good for soil and bad for their delicate feet. I know they can be devastating but I do have a soft spot for these guys.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. You are not the only one, Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love that! I can’t kill anything, I save wasps when they fly into my sitting room, I couldn’t kill a slug, they occasionally trip into my kitchen and have slug parties. I pick their sticky bodies up and place them outside somewhere safe. I de-flea my dog and feel sad about that. I am a hopeless case. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I put out lids of (cheap) beer for them. They can’t resist it and drink themselves to death.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. omtatjuan3 says:

    I guess slugs need attention:)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Love it Carol, and the coffee grounds may be good fertilizer for your plants too. I know they are great for roses. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  10. smilecalm says:

    wondrously artistic
    co-existence, Carol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your lovely thoughts, David. I send thoughts of steady, healing rain to you, the rains that make the earth abundant for humans and for our slug relatives as well. 🙂

      Like

  11. Well done, Carol! Do you garden beds smell like a coffee shop? (smile…)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. inesephoto says:

    Pity they cannot be trained to eat weeds 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

