Reflections – Thursday, August 25, 2016

Carol A. Hand

DSC01958

Gazing at an unmowed lawn
watching as wild flowers blossom after dawn
and turn into a golden garden dancing with the gentle breeze
Flowers bow gracefully now and then under the weight of feeding bees

We’re connected in this timeless moment
the sunshine, flowers, bees, and breeze – and me
Simply celebrating life peacefully – as it was meant to be

***

Note: It’s a strange thing. This is not what I would have chosen to write today. As I work on the details of a syllabus for a research class I’ll be teaching in a few weeks, I am dealing with the serious issue of protecting “human subjects” from harm.  Yet, this poem came this morning as I sat thinking about the assignments I still need to describe. I trust it came to mind for a reason. It does help me remember to be grateful for the ability to find beauty in the most ordinary, unexpected places. I hope it does the same for those who read it.

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Reflections – Thursday, August 25, 2016

  1. A time to reflect on Nature. Beautiful poem. Thank you for sharing. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Actually, it reminded me of the lawn I need to cut.
    Aside from that, I thought the poem quite beautifully complimentary of the photograph.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. isabellaesthermariarose says:

    Enchanting poetry, Carol. Your words are timely and complement some thoughts that came to me today. Bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your lovely comments, and your beautiful photos and poetry, Izzy. “We are in the flowers and in the trees, in the birds and in the breeze.” Sending my blessings and gratitude to you, too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • isabellaesthermariarose says:

        My pleasure, Carol. Heart blessings flowing back to you. Yes, we are all one, interconnected within the Web of Life. It’s wonderful for me to be connecting up with so many like-minded souls. Thank you ♥

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful verses… and the photo makes me want to pick dandelion greens — I assume no pesticides? 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. sojourner says:

    It does, Carol!

    It’s funny how I can be sad or even angry, and the smallest thing can all of a sudden change my perspective for the better, if even for a moment. It’s like a breath of fresh air that helps keep me going.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for sharing such lovely comments, Dave. In my quiet times gazing at world from my back step, I am often in awe of the beauty around me. I’m grateful for the times I can share it with others, and grateful to hear this post helped improve the quality of your day, as your comments did for mine. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • sojourner says:

        I just read the comment above mine (dandelion greens), and it brought back ancient memories. When I was a kid, my mother’s best friend would pick and prepare dandelion greens. Along with kale, which my mother prepared quite often, I loved dandelion greens.

        Of course, this was the 1950s, when some open fields still remained in this city, and one didn’t have to worry about Monsanto products poisoning them.

        But anyway, those greens were delicious: boiled just until bright green, and then quick fried in some bacon fat (not “pc” today), and then served with a little vinegar and salt!

        Liked by 3 people

  6. Margaret Mair says:

    Thank you for the sunshine, flowers, breeze and bees. A touch of color on a very grey afternoon.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Wow, I lovod this! And it connected with me too! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ken Dowell says:

    A poem that emanates an air of gentleness.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Kathy says:

    Isn’t it funny how often you sit down to write and something unexpected, but perfect and perfectly necessary pops up instead? Lovely poem and photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. tubularsock says:

    Wonderful poem. To ponder the present moment places everything else in the illusion that it is.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Our connection with nature is our mind’s way of rebooting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So true, Rosaliene. This morning, as I was reflecting about an eloquent post on another blog about music as a source of inspiration, I realized that my source of inspiration comes from the sights, sounds, and scents of nature. Music often takes me to another’s world. Nature helps me be in touch with my own heart.

      Like

  12. Annika Perry says:

    Beautiful poem, Carol, brimming with the tranquility of nature around us. Thank you for sharing. 😀 So important to find time for those ‘timeless moments’.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

