Reflections – For Standing Rock Water Protectors

Carol A. Hand

People from many tribes united to protect life, land and water
standing their ground with the power of love, peace, prayer and song
facing media lies and violence, attack dogs, poison, bulldozers and guns
The continuing story of colonial times as corporate armies march along
raping and plundering the earth and her peoples year after year, one by one

***

we_are_unarmed-dakota_access-courtesy_indigenous_environmental_network

Photo Credit: Indian County Today Media Network 

***

Let this be the tipping point,
the time for awakening when those of good heart say “NO MORE!”
Let us stand united clothed in the power of love, flanked by the spirit of ancestors
knowing that we were all born to carry a sacred responsibility none of us can ignore

***

 

News from Standing Rock, North Dakota:

http://www.commondreams.org/news/2016/09/01/world-watching-tribal-members-put-bodies-path-dakota-pipeline

***

Posted with gratitude to those at the front lines, including my daughter and granddaughter

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Social Justice and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Reflections – For Standing Rock Water Protectors

  1. desilef says:

    Yes, gratitude – and to you for how you raised them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. werejohn says:

    Focussing beyond their differences for a noble common goal. I like that

    Liked by 1 person

  3. smilecalm says:

    may the indigenous people
    continue to
    lead the way 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  4. It just goes to prove that our government is filled with people full of greed and will continue this pattern in the future. I hope the judge rules for the Native Americans but I doubt it. Really sad,

    This is something I wrote years ago, I have posted it many times and it never gets comments, I wonder if people see themselves in it or is it guilt?????

    CAN YOU HEAR THE RUMBLING
    By: Patricia Salamone

    Can you hear the rumbling? If you listen close you might. Can you see despair and poverty? It is an awful sight! Can you hear the children crying out in pain? Can you see their faces as they’re calling out in vain?
    Each day you line your pockets. Is that your only goal? Is human life so meaningless you let degradation take its toll? Do you see how …you are destroying the only world which we know? We trusted you to lead us and this is all you have to show?
    You keep your little circle tight, with nothing but the best. Once this world is finished, you’ll go down with all the rest. Promises you made mean nothing any more. You will say anything you need to get you in the door.
    If you think we’re not aware of what is coming down. If you think this can go on, you really are a clown. Quietly we gather; one by one we come. Silently we move while all of you are having fun.
    We are tired of your grabbing, and never giving back. We are angry you’ve betrayed us. We are about to crack. You have lost sight of what you’re there for; to lead, and not to take. Your Greed has taken flight, your Pride, a big mistake.
    Can you hear the rumbling?  If you listen close you might

    Liked by 4 people

    • sojourner says:

      Yes, this speaks to me, because I, and many others as well, sat by most of my life and allowed the world to get to this sad state.

      You wrote:

      “You have lost sight of what you’re there for; to lead, and not to take. Your Greed has taken flight, your Pride, a big mistake.
      Can you hear the rumbling? If you listen close you might”

      For me, this is the problem. People are not equipped to have power over (“lead”) millions of others. It’s an overused quote, but accurate: “Power corrupts. Absolute power corrupts absolutely”

      There can be leaders, in my opinion, as long as those leaders are part of a small community of people who all know each other and actively take part in the workings of the community (self-governing/sustaining communities); a community made up of free individuals working together.

      We need to go back and look at, as one example, Native Americans communities. We are not civilized, they were!

      Liked by 2 people

      • I understand how you feel about the community leaders but our communities do have leaders, Mayors in every city. Governors in every State, Congressmen and Senators, Unfortunately to me it seems like no matter what good intentions they have getting in the door, those ideals disappear as they line their pockets and accept gifts from the very wealthy. This is what has to stop, The average working people are the ones paying for all this. I don’t know if it’s too late to turn things around but I hope and pray that they realize; “Once this world is finished you go down with all the rest.”
        It is truly a scary world, not only here in the U.S. but all over the world.

        Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments, Patricia, and for sharing your powerful, eloquent poem. I’m grateful to see others have been touched and commented. (Please know that you are always welcome to post things here as a comment or as a guest author.)

      Like

  5. Bernadette says:

    You must be so proud of them to take up for what they believe is right.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. sojourner says:

    I sense that the rest of us are about to experience what Native Americans and millions upon millions of other peoples around the world have been experiencing for centuries now.

    And maybe this will wake up the vast majority, or maybe not. Either way, I firmly believe the status quo right now is coming to an end soon. And our mutual enemy (this worldwide system/order), as usual, will not be interested in a peaceful resolution.

    Liked by 3 people

    • As a person coming from the developing world, I can attest to that. The violence against other peoples and the rape of Mother Earth have come home to the perpetrators.

      Liked by 3 people

    • I see hope in the courage of the Water Protectors at Standing Rock, Dave. Native peoples haven’t forgotten who they are despite centuries of colonial oppression. And an MSM reporter was inspired by their actions to produce a segment that honors that history. He had the courage/skill/influence to make sure it was published. They stand for all of us. We owe them gratitude and action – to each do what we can to protect the earth we share.

      Liked by 2 people

      • sojourner says:

        I see hope in this as well, Carol.

        Yes, I was surprised that this person, whom I gave up on a long time ago, spoke out this way. I’m sure he has paid a price for what he said here.

        We need those on the inside to turn on the system! And so I find hope in all the insider whistleblowers who have been willing to put their careers and physical well being on the line to expose the lies and treachery.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I meant to thank you for engaging in dialogue with others here, Dave. I am truly grateful. I’m slow responding these days because I’ve been busy trying to finish my syllabus and assignments. (Computer hackers set me back last week when I was on a roll. I had everything open in different programs when they locked my computer screen and internet access. Luckily, my malware protection minimized the damage. I fell for their scam temporarily, but I was able to reverse that damage, too…)

          Liked by 1 person

        • sojourner says:

          I’m sorry to hear that, Carol. I’m glad the damage was less than it could have been.

          I had this happen to me a few years back, and two times in less than six months. I was lucky to have a friend who is an IP technical guy. Otherwise, I would have been in trouble!

          I enjoy engaging with the folks who follow you! We evidently all have much in common, since we are drawn to what you share with us and others.

          Liked by 1 person

        • sojourner says:

          Carol, do you have any problems accessing my blog posts? I am asking, because a facebook user said she was having problems accessing the front page screen.

          Liked by 1 person

        • I don’t have access problems with your site, Dave, except for time. But there are many sites I can’t reach from the wp message center or gravatars. Let me check to see if I can reach yours from the gravatar and I’ll let you know it there’s a problem. It’s an easy fix – just click on the little gravatar icon on the top right of the screen. You can upload a link to your blog on the gravatar page.

          Liked by 1 person

        • sojourner says:

          Thanks, Carol!

          Liked by 1 person

        • I just checked, Dave. I can’t link to your site from the gravatar. Your website isn’t listed. (You can check mine my clicking on the little image that appears to show “likes.”)

          Liked by 1 person

        • sojourner says:

          Okay, I know why this is the case. I don’t make my site available on social media. But I have people on social media view and even comment on my blog.

          This person could get to my site, but my wp header was too large for her to view the full article on facebook.

          So I just went in and eliminated a few pages and did some abbreviating. I had been considering doing this for a while.

          I responded to this person again, so hopefully what I have done will help.

          Thanks, for checking on this, Carol!

          Liked by 1 person

        • sojourner says:

          Oh, and by the way, I know you are busy, so don’t worry about reading my posts, and when or if you respond to my comments. We all know the tasks you are taking on!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Thanks, Dave. I’m glad to hear you’ve figured out how to make changes so people can read what you post 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • sojourner says:

          I am no tech-weeny that is for sure!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Nor am I, but the challenge I face today is working on the online component of my class 😦

          Liked by 1 person

        • sojourner says:

          Luck you! Not!;-)

          Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for sharing this, Carol. Our struggle never ends.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Congratulations at having your daughter and granddaughter at the front line. You must be extremely proud. I was intrigued to learn that the pipeline is illegal (according to the Army Corps of Engineers) because the company doesn’t have a written easement to build a pipeline: https://stuartjeannebramhall.com/2016/09/03/engineers-proves-native-americans-were-right-about-the-dakota-pipeline/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind words, Stuart, and for sharing this important background information. To be honest, I have mixed feelings about having them on the front line. Yesterday, the company militia sprayed pepper gas in peoples’ faces and then unleashed attack dogs. Media attention may make them reluctant to repeat violence that has shifted public sentiment.

      Like

  9. wolfegeo says:

    Carol, I shared this on my facebook page. Myself and a few friends have been following this. I don’t understand why it doesn’t get more attention from the mainstream media. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing this post, Maria. I’m glad to know others are following this crucial issue. It is important news about something that affects all of us, but I’m not surprised that it’s not getting much air time. Hugs to you, too. ❤

      Like

    • Corporate media owners receive massive advertising dollars from, and likely own significant shares of (interlocking directorates), the same big oil corporations pushing the Dakota pipeline. Censorship of this historic, now global, collective action to protect the environment by the media is done solely for reasons of pure monetary self-interest. Jill Stein and Ajamu Baraka of the Green Party are proposing a “Green New Deal”, erroneously described as unworkable but absolutely doable. The problem monopoly energy corporation owners have with sun, wind, geothermal and other forms of renewable energy is that when initial investments for green energy equipment becomes paid, from that point on the energy produced is free. When virtually everyone uses renewable energy historically powerful fossil fuel firms go extinct in the same manner as firms which produced and sold whale oil.

      Liked by 2 people

  10. I’ve been watching this on MSNBC and they’ve been doing a decent job supporting the efforts to stop this pipeline. We had a similar battle out here in Oregon against two major gas pipelines and terminals. The fight went on for over ten years and we won! We were shocked. It is possible if everyone steps up and contributes to the best of their abilities. Good luck to your daughter and granddaughter. The press is covering it and that makes a big difference.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sha'Tara says:

    Reblogged this on ~Burning Woman~ and commented:
    What’s to add? Carol, her daughter and granddaughter, and the video say all that needs to be said. The question before those who have read this, and watched the video must be, “In what way does this affect me, and what should I do about it?”

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sha'Tara says:

    I have re-blogged this on ~burning woman~ and commented there. You have my whole-hearted support, whatever that means (seems so pathetically weak a statement) and just so you know, I have been on many such demonstrations in the past as a social activist, environmentalist and general shit disturber. Now at 70, I’m reining myself in in order to spend more time in introspection and lending a hand individual to individual to test the waters on how that may move people towards compassion. I must say a few words on leadership: from my experience and observation, a “leader” is recognized by her or his willingness to serve others in the most menial of tasks with no expectation of remuneration or other “rewards”. A leader is the one who serves others selflessly and never complains from demands being made. A leader sacrifices her or his very life if necessary for another and for the community. A leader never countenances disciples, or followers for that means the “leader” is not self-empowered and needs to take power from followers. A true leader has no enemies because she (he) refuses to see any other as such. A leader is compassion in action. If your leader does not possess such qualities, know that your leader is false. S/he can be a promoter, rabble-rouser, powerful demagogue, mover and shaker… but at heart you have a self-promoting narcissist. Today’s world knows very few leaders and you will never hear of them in the media, though if you go to some small village somewhere in the mountains, or a jungle or desert, people may point to a hut where an individual lives and is held sacred because she/he has such qualities.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your thoughtful comments and support, Sha’Tara. I am at a similar stage in life, a half-year away from 70. I also prefer to do what I can from the margins these days. I also appreciate your astute observations about “leaders.” In old Ojibwe culture, leadership was inherited (but followers had to be earned through one’s behavior and character). Who would willingly choose to shoulder the responsibility for ensuring community well-being and survival, doing what you describe – whatever menial tasks needed to be done, serving selflessly as an example of generosity, patience, wisdom, peace maker and consensus builder? We need more of folks like these in every community…

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I’m not one bit surprised that your daughter and granddaughter are on the first line. Given that you raised and taught them, like you, they are wonderful people with great hearts filled with love and compassion! Thanks for sharing this. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  14. inesephoto says:

    You must be very proud, Carol. It is a great achievement to raise children who stand up for a cause.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Debra says:

    Yes. I was surprised and happy to see this make the mainstream news when so very many actions are routinely buried under so-called news about celebrity and spectacle. I like to go to http://bsnorrell.blogspot.com/ where actions by first nations people are frequently documented. This kind of thing happens more often than most people imagine yet the fight to protect the land continues — here and all over the world. So many people are willing to risk everything including their lives. I’ve heard three people die each week trying to stop these type of things and yet their sacrifice usually goes unnoticed. I for one am profoundly grateful.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Not much makes sense in this so called ‘real’ world.
    Thank you very much Carol for presenting this information

    Liked by 1 person

  17. underswansea says:

    Hi Carol, you must be proud of your daughter and granddaughter. It is difficult to be on the side of conservation, the victories are few and far between, allies of all ancestries, often turn on the dollar. It is a tough row, yet there is no more noble a cause. Take care. Bob

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for your always thoughtful comments, Bob. I am proud of my daughter and grandchildren, and deeply grateful that they have learned to care about others and the earth. Sadly, I think you’re correct – alliances and outcomes “turn on the dollar” all too frequently. I’m glad the next generations are moving us forward nonetheless. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

