The Journey Home, by a Special Guest Author

Today, I’m posting an article written by a special guest author, my daughter. She graciously agreed to allow me to post an article she wrote and originally shared on Facebook.

Jnana Hand
(Originally posted on Facebook, September 6, 2016)

North Dakota has always been a place I have rushed through in search of what I thought were better things… visits with family, first glimpses of mountains, ocean tides, big trees. I approached this trip with a sense of curiosity, trying to understand what it would feel like to be of and from this place. I was searching for the feelings that inspire the deep sense of peace and connectedness to this land, the kind that necessitates taking a stand to defend. At first we were struck by the wetlands and the huge numbers of ducks, herons, and cranes that lived there, the colors on the autumn fields, the gradual transition from woods to plains.

That was the first day.

jh-1

Through a comedy of errors, delays, twists of fates, our trip was delayed by a day. This was good for a few reasons, the weather, dog attacks, and I didn’t really know where I was going or how to get there. On this extra night, friends advised me on camp conditions, weather conditions, and this extra time let me map out our trip. On the second travel day, my check engine light came on 5 minutes after leaving the hotel, and as I weighed turning back, driving 350 miles home, I decided to lay my trust that this trip was meant to be and that maybe my mechanic was right, this was only a minor issue with the car. So on we went, though a little more unsure that we would make through the next 150 miles, and far more unsure that we would make it back.

When we got to Bismark, we passed the easy route because we heard there was a police blockade and so we took long winding road up and down hills and river-cut valleys for that extra half hour. We saw a helicopter speed by overhead, strange sight for farm and ranch land. We were repeatedly passed by racing trucks with extreme tints on their windows. We saw the place where the pipeline digging had already come through, leaving scars in the fields in both directions for a reason that is still unclear. This was when the beauty of the land really started to hit me as well as the profoundness of this moment.

jh-2

Even though I had our trip mapped out, the roads seemed to be longer than I thought and all along I was hoping I was turning the right way, taking the correct roads, because if I wasn’t, there was no one to ask. One sign we were going the right way was a police car at a T, parked, facing out, likely taking down plate numbers, perhaps taking pictures of anyone coming through. We entered and left Standing Rock Reservation, at the boundary saw a small camp, a river, then tipis and tents, flags, protest signs. As we came through security, we could see that hundreds, maybe a thousand were here.

jh-3

jh-4

jh-5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I did take some pictures, but the most profound moments are not on film. They were the conversations with defenders, side by side work with volunteers, the beauty of the diversity of tribes coming together, the rainbow shades of people there, sights of prayer being made on the top of the hills, the words of poets, songwriters and speakers, and the magic of knowing people are here for as long as it takes. This place is so special, anyone able to come, please do, and please support in any way you can. This is our chance to take a stand. There is power in our numbers, strength in our prayers, hope in our unity. Protect our future generations, honor indigenous rights to live in healthy communities, protect our rivers from permanent contamination. Our reasons: our water and our children. Peace and solidarity with Standing Rock.

jh-6

jh-7

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand, Jnana Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand, Jnana Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Native American Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to The Journey Home, by a Special Guest Author

  1. desilef says:

    Thank you, Jnana Hand – for being there and for telling the story.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Excellent piece of writing, Jnana. It’s great to get a first hand account of this historic protest.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Kathy says:

    Thank you for posting this. I had heard about this story, but this post provides an important perspective that hasn’t been well reported by corporate news. Beautifully and poignantly written b

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful share, Jnana. Thanks for posting, Carol. I believe in the power of ordinary citizens. I’m helping as best I can from over here in Oregon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Margaret Mair says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this. It is powerful, moving and very important. And please share my thanks with your strong daughter and those standing with her.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Debra says:

    Thank you, Jnana, for being there to protect what is most precious.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. hsampson says:

    Wonderful piece Jnana! Thanks for sharing this wonderful lesson. Hope to read more soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you for sharing, Jnana and congrats on this piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thank you for sharing your beautiful daughter’s piece with us! Like daughter, like mother. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sha'Tara says:

    A lovely description of an amazing journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Bernadette says:

    Thank you for a heartfelt post about the dangers to the indigenous population that this project will cause.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. sojourner says:

    Once again, Carol, I echo the comments above. Your daughter has inherited your gift of being able to communicate/share, quite succinctly, what is on her heart and mind.

    In particular, the following sentence really spoke to me, since this is the only dream, the only desire, I have left:

    “There is power in our numbers, strength in our prayers, hope in our unity.”

    Liked by 2 people

  13. smilecalm says:

    i’m touched by this meaningful
    homecoming of true heart 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Gratitude to you both.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. vellissima says:

    I am so pleased with anyone who makes the effort for this important issue. Stay safe.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I shared this one on FB — a very good window into what we who are not there can only imagine… Thank You.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. We Share Love And Joy says:

    Nice post like it 🙂 ❤
    i like your article somuch ..
    thanks for share it ..
    Come , Visit And Review My Article My Friend 🙂
    https://kenikmatanpria.wordpress.com/category/english-corner/

    Like

Leave a Reply

