Reflections about Transformation

Carol A. Hand

So much easier dreamt than spoken
So much simpler said than done
The process of transformation
never-ending once it has begun

Though you listen deeply for the next steps
the journey will test your mind and spirit
You’ll reach the breaking point again and again
The epiphany may be there but you cannot hear it

The path you’ve chosen will tempt you to abandon hope
confront you with your deepest nightmare fears
unleash powerful emotions you thought controlled
drive you to distraction and call forth your bitter tears

Forgive yourself for faltering and desiring the long journey’s final end
Find the strength within to continue, let compassionate thoughts ascend
Perhaps someday you’ll glance back and, only then, be able to comprehend
why it’s so much easier to dream than overcome suffering in order to transcend

***

Sun breaking through clouds over ocean

Sun breaking through clouds over ocean

(Photo Source: commons.wikimedia.com)

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Adversity and Resilience and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Reflections about Transformation

  1. Hope resides in perseverance and survivance.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Silvia TIC says:

    You spoke directly to my heart. Thank you sister.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Silvia TIC says:

    Reblogged this on Mainstream Permaculture and commented:
    Such a beautiful poem…touches me when I most needed. Proof that we are all somewhat connected, sisters and brothers, cells of the same body, all going through the same at different paces and levels.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing this with such thoughtful comments, Silvia. I’m so grateful the poem spoke to you. It spoke to me, too, when I needed it this week. I hesitated posting it though because teaching and harvesting gardens take so much time. I still write because I’ve learned I need to express creativity in my life, but I don’t have much time to respond to comments or visit other blogs. But today, I decided to take the time and your comments made me glad that I did. Sending you love and hugs. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. steelcityman says:

    Magical words Carol…I’ve walked that road getting to where I am in my life, several times over, with varying degrees of success, and you have encapsulated the struggle perfectly ….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. wolfegeo says:

    Beautifully written Carol. As I read this I couldn’t help but wonder what in your life prompted this poem. From the little I know about you I can generate a long list of possibilities. And then again it could just be a beautiful, thoughtful poem. You’re a good person Carol and and my life is so much richer for having the opportunity to know you through your writings. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your lovely comments, Maria. There’s no easy answer to your question. Living a long life with a tender heart in a world such as this one is not easy, as I’m sure you know. Writing sometimes helps me rekindle hope and inspiration.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sha'Tara says:

    So well said, so accurately described… you wrote “my” song, Carol. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful encapsulation of life’s journey, Carol. It seems that it’s often through suffering that we transform, transitioning from body to spirit, from answers to questions, and from one to all. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eloquently described process of transformation, Diana. Thank you for your lovely comments and crucial insights. ❤ (Somehow this reply showed up as a comment, Diana, but I am slow responding these days, even though I am deeply grateful. Thank you for your kindness and patience.)

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Kathy says:

    I really like this poem. It reminded me of a quote I came across a while back, although I don’t know to whom it should be attributed–“Knowledge won’t effect change–change is powered by emotion”. You restated that idea, much more eloquently.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comments, Kathy. I agree with the unknown source. Positive change comes from caring strongly enough to challenge the forces that keep us oppressed, and destruction is powered by fear and shame I suspect.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

