Reflections about What’s and Why’s

Carol A. Hand

Wrapped in a cocoon of protective covers that embraced me,
trusting that what happened as I slept was meant to be,
Ancestor’s kept me safe and warm throughout the night.
I awaken early in the grey predawn light
unaware of where I traveled while my body lay at rest.
Slowly, I emerge from my blanketed nest.

fdltcc

As I greet the morning I contemplate questions that will not cease.
I know some of the what’s and how’s of things in a very superficial way.
But it’s the why’s I want to understand. Why war and cruelty? Why not peace?
I’ll keep searching for answers to these questions on this and every future day.
In the meantime I’ll live simply and find moments to witness beauty and grace.
That’s crucial in an era where fear, destruction, and greed are monsters we all need to face.

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Reflections about What’s and Why’s

  1. Alok Singhal says:

    That’s what we all can do and hope for the best in future!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. sojourner says:

    “As I greet the morning I contemplate questions that will not cease.
    I know some of the what’s and how’s of things in a very superficial way.
    But it’s the why’s I want to understand. Why war and cruelty? Why not peace?
    I’ll keep searching for answers to these questions on this and every future day.”

    I awake to these questions in the middle of the night, when I am dead tired, and I have to struggle to clear my mind so I can sleep.

    In the morning, during the day, in the evening, these questions, and many others, are with me, to the point that, sometimes, I wish they would leave and never return.

    I simply can’t get to the peace and sanity you are speaking of here:

    “In the meantime I’ll live simply and find moments to witness beauty and grace.
    That’s crucial in an era where fear, destruction, and greed are monsters we all need to face.”

    Maybe some day, I will learn how?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. So true Carol. It used to be a gentle world but greed has wiggled its way into our simple life.
    We hope for guidance and pray for Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “In the meantime I’ll live simply and find moments to witness beauty and grace.” And that’s what I do as well dear Carol, and somewhere in that witnessing come bits and pieces of the answers we seek. Love and hugs, N 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. smilecalm says:

    such deep questions arising
    upon your awakening, Carol!
    i’m happy knowing you are making the peace
    and kindness desired with each waking moment 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Annika Perry says:

    Beautiful Carol and with so many of us searching for peace, enjoying the treasures in life I hope we can make a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. jamborobyn says:

    What, why, how; I think many of ponder such questions. As a child I wrote “why?” everywhere for a few years until I realised it wouldn’t serve me because I am powerless to alter another’s impetus for action, nor would I choose it if I could. Thus over many subsequent decades made my peace with why via the notion that we tend to laud cause and effect relationships that have no basis in reality in an effort to feel in control. Science and indeed humanity have been drawing erroneous conclusions since time immemorial, the world still does not dance to the tune of such conclusions and the only outcome we can produce as a result is destruction, decay or a general diminishing life. We did not create this world in the manner that say, we create a piece of art, deliberately and with great care and awareness, rather the one thing I am quite sure of is that we have absolutely no clue what we are doing nor how it will all turn out over time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A deep and thoughtful discussion, Robyn. Yet, I know I will continue to ponder why’s. And now that my hair is grey, I have a bit of freedom to return to childhood behaviors. Ageist assumptions that grey hair and wrinkles mean I may be a bit simple minded or senile gives me a chance to directly ask people in an inquisitive nonjudgmental way why they behave or think as they do. Sometimes, they reflect before answering. And sometimes, they appear to learn something about themselves in the process.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jamborobyn says:

        I’m right with you, Carol. I m still very interested in why and I sometimes ask the question myself, but as a child I thought of not knowing why as the only barrier to finding solutions to problems, so I had to shelve that. Probably the most interesting question to me these days is “How?” as in how does everything work together, which things make other things impossible, which things encourage other things to flourish, how does life move, what are its qualities? I am not yet resilient enough for facing a lot of the whys of human behaviour, even when I stumble across them, I frequently experience them as personally heartbreaking. So when I’m older and stronger and wiser I imagine I will return to the original questions with a little more experience and patience so that I may properly hear the answers. Anyway, you have added a dimension to my ponderings. Gratitude 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

