A Request for Action to Support Standing Rock Water Protectors

Carol A. Hand

My heart is heavy with the news coming from Standing Rock, ND today. It’s led me to do something I rarely do. I’m posting a request for the help of all of those who follow this blog. For the sake of the health of our earth and future generations, I ask you to consider voicing your concerns about the situation in Standing Rock, ND.

The voice of the Protectors:

Standing Rock Update and Indigenous Call to Action – Bioneers 2016

 

An example of the mainstream media portrayals:

Dakota Access Pipeline Standoff Lapses Into Violence (Huffington Post)

Consider contacting the White House today at 202-456-1111 or sending a message to whitehouse.gov/contact. Ask President Obama to support the peaceful Water Protectors and act on behalf of the 17 million Americans who depend on the Missouri River for their clean water. Ask him to honor treaties and do what is right to protect people and the environment, not the profit of corporations. Please let him know that people are concerned across the US and the world. And please feel free to add your ideas in comments about how to raise worldwide attention and support for this and other pressing social justice issues.

From the Official Presidential Contact site

Call the President

PHONE NUMBERS
Comments: 202-456-1111
Switchboard: 202-456-1414
TTY/TTD
Comments: 202-456-6213
Visitor’s Office: 202-456-2121

Write a letter to the President

Here are a few simple things you can do to make sure your message gets to the White House as quickly as possible.

1. If possible, email us! This is the fastest way to get your message to President Obama.

2. If you write a letter, please consider typing it on an 8 1/2 by 11 inch sheet of paper. If you hand-write your letter, please consider using pen and writing as neatly as possible.

3. Please include your return address on your letter as well as your envelope. If you have an email address, please consider including that as well.

4. And finally, be sure to include the full address of the White House to make sure your message gets to us as quickly and directly as possible:

The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20500

This issue affects us all no matter where we’re located in the world. I hope you will consider contacting President Obama. We need to stand in unity on issues that affect all of us and the earth we all call home.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Social Justice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to A Request for Action to Support Standing Rock Water Protectors

  1. desilef says:

    Thank you for prodding me to contact President Obama. Done! I sure hope more of a public outcry will make a difference.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Lara/Trace says:

    Reblogged this on THE MIX, a weekly look at mixed ancestry and commented:
    Please share this!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. DONE & shared as well!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: A Request for Action to Support Standing Rock Water Protectors — Voices from the Margins | Three Worlds One Vision

  5. Trying not to be cynical. I contacted the White House and left a short, passionate plea for the president to do the right thing. We’ll see.

    Thank you for caring enough to do this.

    Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for taking action and for your thoughtful comments, A Shift in Consciousness. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • The least I can do. I’m trying to talk my wife into the two of us stopping by Standing Rock, but it will be difficult. We’ve been on the road helping a disabled woman from Maine relocate to California. She was dying from neglect due to drastic cuts in benefits for disabled people by Maine’s corrupt tea party psycho in chief, Governor LaPage. We’ll be going back to our “home” in NY, but my wife wants to move to California. She likes it more than NYC. We’ll see what happens. Life is uncertain and quite an adventure for us right now.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. sojourner says:

    Reblogged this on An Outsider's Sojourn II.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sojourner says:

    I am reblogging this!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ronnie says:

    Reblogged this on Ronnie's Blog and commented:
    Please Reblog

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Cynthia says:

    Reblogged and Tweeted

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Bravo for posting this appeal, Carol. I have also contacted the White House.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. steelcityman says:

    e mail sent to the white house Carol …. and I didn’t mince my words either. I’m telling everyone I see over here, as it gets very little coverage in the biased Brit media. I’m re-blogging it too, and doing a steelcityman Vlog about it …. POWER TO THE PEOPLE !!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. steelcityman says:

    Reblogged this on steelcityman and commented:
    This situation is getting quite serious and I urge all who read this to contact the President of the USA and show support for the Indigenous people and the Standing Rock call for action. It reminds me VERY MUCH of the news reels I saw in the sixties when the American government treat the black population in such a disgraceful manner when they struggled for civil rights. I thought the American Nation had moved on…sadly I am mistaken.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Silvia TIC says:

    I’ve been following this too, there is a blackout from mainstream media but pieces are coming out through certain outlets. People are sharing through social media and there are grassroots efforts collecting money and items to send to the camps. I would travel if I could, my heart is with them, the ecosystems and the land…

    Liked by 1 person

  14. wolfegeo says:

    Done. And I’ve shared this far and wide. That oil is considered more valuable and worthy of protection than our water well it’s wrong on so many count’s. It breaks my heart. I’m so sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Reblogged in the UK Carol. It is so vital people understand we are all part of a whole, every negative action impacts massively on the whole of our globe. I remain incredibly moved by your writing. Thank you for caring so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Pingback: A Request for Action to Support Standing Rock Water Protectors — Voices from the Margins | A night in with Nelly

  17. Pingback: A Request for Action to Support Standing Rock Water Protectors | sliceofheaveninsweden

  18. Hi Carol, I just sent a letter to President Obama. It is just appalling. I have to admit that the coverage I read on the New York Times also reported violence among the protestors. It didn’t seem logical to me and made me question what I was reading. The Times did show sympathy toward the Native Americans in their report.

    Kindness,

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for taking action, Kristin, and for following this issue.

      It’s not say to figure out what is really happening from the mainstream media. A crucial omission is the distinction between “protectors,” the way Native Americans describe their role, and “protesters” or “demonstrators,” the terms used by the media. There’s a huge difference between protecting one’s people and homeland from a corporate invasion and protesting the denial of one’s civil rights.

      I send my best wishes to you, and again, thank you. ❤

      Like

  19. Margaret Mair says:

    I have been tweeting and sharing news of this, and have tweeted this blog post. Tonight I’ll compose my letter to Obama. May the violence end.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Oh, Carol, what a painful week this has been. Thank you for holding a better dream than the one we are currently offered.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

