Reflections and Questions

Carol A. Hand

Who am I – a tiny speck on a revolving globe
In a universe that, like me, appears to be
more empty space than substance?
Why am I here – a physical body held on the surface
by a force no one can adequately explain?

***

Transparent Shadow - Carol A. Hand

Transparent Shadow – Carol A. Hand

***

There are times when I feel connected, one
with the wonder and beauty surrounding me
And other times I’m absolutely alone
when inexplicable brutality and suffering
painfully extinguish meaning and hope

***

Dark Shadow - Carol A. Hand

Dark Shadow – Carol A. Hand

***

For moments in each rotation of this globe
there’s an escape to blessed oblivion
Yet I have always awakened, whatever that means,
to the repeating questions that remain

***

Stardust Shadow - Carol A. Hand

Stardust Shadow – Carol A. Hand

***

Who am I?
Where am I?
What is the purpose of life?
Is there something I am meant to learn, to do, to be?

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Reflections and Questions

  1. omtatjuan3 says:

    I love your words!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. wolfegeo says:

    Carol,
    I believe there is a purpose to life. I believe the human form of life is special in that it allows us to ask questions like the ones you proposed: Is there something I am meant to learn, to do, to be? Each of us has their faith, and we may not agree. But I believe that we are in this world, this material world, because we have material desires and the only way to fulfill them is in this material form. However, the goal of life is to understand that we are not the body, but rather the soul within; a spiritual being. The goal of life is to learn to love God; to free ourselves of material desires and attachments; to break free from the cycle of birth and death; and to go back home at the end of life, back to godhead.
    I feel a little strange posting this on your blog but I wanted to respond and to do so without writing a book. So much of what causes us discomfort in this life is because the conditions we find ourselves in are not natural to us the soul within the body.
    I loved your post. Sorry for going on like this.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Like the earth we circle the sun which lives in the universe. There are seasons, tides, sunrise and sunset, moonrise, eclipses etc. I believe our moods are part of that and so within us are they are ever changing. :o)

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Carol, I console myself with the belief that I’m doing what I’m meant to be doing at this moment in time. Only the gods know for what purpose.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I am with you in the questioning, Carol…. a pondering wonderous contemplation. Thanks. This make me feel connected and less alone, if that makes any sense.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Sha'Tara says:

    Wonderful post, Carol. Another blogger asked almost identical questions to which I replied thus:
    From what I now know of life’s purpose, I think those are the questions we are here to create the answers for. Notice I say “create” and not “find” and there is a world of difference between these two approaches. The first causes us to evolve mentally, the second keeps us penned into Matrix confines of religion, government, money, popular science and ancient philosophies.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Oh Carol, I don’t thing a human has ever lived that hasn’t grappled with those same questions, and the diversity of answers fill volumes of written texts. I absolutely loved your post and the way you put together your queries and your longings. The fact that we mortals connect on that level speaks to me of purpose and identity. First let me just agree 100% with what your first commenter put forth. There are so many tthings we can’t know for sure in this life, but I believe the good Lord leads us into connections with other people and in them and our feelings for them we find not only our true identity but our purpose as well. I’m always reminded of an encounter years ago with a homeless man who drove that message home for me. I’ve written about it a couple of times, but the gist of it was that he had nothing, no reason to smile, no reason to bless someone else, no reason to be where he was that day. And yet a black man with no legs and no home was sitting in a wheel chair on a downtown street and at one of the darkest moments of my life, I, a white woman with both legs, no physical impediment, a home, and money in the bank, turned a corner and was greeted by his huge smile, his warm countenance, and the words “God bless you!” And I knew I had come face to face with the Lord and been lifted up by that stark contrast and reality to use what gifts I had to bless others as well. Thus my purpose was forged while in my hopelessness, my questioning, my doubts, and my selfishness. I still don’t have the answers to much of anything but I know what and who I am for the most part. I am a child of the Maker of heaven and earth, and I am made in His image so I find my identity in what He says about His children in Scripture, and I see it reflected back to my in my relationships and daily encounters with other people. And I’ve learned what I can contribute in this hurting world so desperately lacking kindness, love and peace for I can smile, I can be kind, I can live peacefully, and I can love. You are one of my blessings and teachers my friend. Love and hugs, Natalie

    Liked by 1 person

  8. underswansea says:

    Hi Carol. Your poem searches for answers. Is it fair we enjoy beauty amidst so much suffering? The answer is we have to you. We can’t let beauty go by without honouring it’s presence. The best we can do is gather strength and laugh out loud in spite of it all. That’s what will make us keep fighting for what is right. Take care. Bob

    Liked by 1 person

  9. smilecalm says:

    thank you, Carol, for answering
    questions i’m bound to continue
    having as long as breath
    brings renewed curiosity
    about life’s wonders 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

