Reflections about Teaching #3385

Carol A. Hand

As another semester approaches the end,
I ask myself once again,
Why do I teach?
What do I know that’s really worth passing on to others?

Grading research proposals is not my idea of fun.
It’s a sacred duty for generations yet to come.
I won’t be here to see the future you help create
But my daughter and grandchildren will, and your descendants as well

How can I convey the most important lessons?
All of you carry potential to breathe a new world into being
But it’s a responsibility that requires study, reflection, and courage
My job is simply to help you discover your gifts and who you are

To encourage you to reflect and challenge socialization
that has lulled you to believe you must follow leaders and experts

To help you find your own inspiration to carry on
as life-long learners who know how to think critically,
To ask the right questions and pursue the best you can imagine
based on the certainty of connections to all our relations

To understand who you are, that what you think and feel and do
all matter more than scores on a paper or final grades in a class

Learning to listen deeply, observe, question, and reflect
unlocking your potential, your joy in the exploration of new possibilities
are the gifts and responsibilities you all carry as co-creators of what will be

***

A gift from one of the students in the first university class I taught (edited photo)
A gift from one of the students in the first university class I taught (edited photo)

***

It’s an honor to be a small part of your lifelong journey of discovery

***

 

14 thoughts on “Reflections about Teaching #3385”

Leave a Reply

