Just a Silly Poem

Carol A. Hand

I’ve always been stylish
Wouldn’t you say?

Amik Lake 1991

Amik Lake 1991

Gotta love this old jacket
Still can’t throw it away
Twenty-five plus years later
stained and beginning to fray
it continues serving its purpose
keeping cold winds at bay

May this silly photo and rhyme
Bring laughter and brighten your day

***

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Just a Silly Poem

  1. Lara/Trace says:

    I have a jacket from Seattle, Carol – that has to be 25 years old – still wear it. We’re a pair! ❤ this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. inesephoto says:

    Such a lovely photograph. I too have some pieces of clothing that I keep for decades 🙂 My daughter used to wear a jumper that I bought in 1972 🙂 She still keeps it in her family history storage 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love it! And you likely have no idea how it cheers my heart to see the esteemed Carol Hand also writing nonsense poems. I was truly starting to feel lonely!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Silvia TIC says:

    They worked their purpose! (make me smile and warm my day)Thank you Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. susanissima says:

    Carol, you are a sweet slice of sun poking through our Pacific Northwest clouds. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bernadette says:

    I agree with Cynthia. It does my heart good to see you silly.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You always brighten my day Carol! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. victorialise says:

    Would love to find a jacket like that now! Just love the color too.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. AmyRose🌹 says:

    Keep laughing, Carol! And I really love your sense of style … worn and comfy. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  10. steelcityman says:

    Far from being silly, it was a poem full of ‘Real Things’ and very smile making…loved it, thank you Carol. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Kev says:

    Love it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. mytiturk says:

    Guilty as well, me.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. mariaholm says:

    That’s me in a nutshell! I can’t throw away good old things I love or have good memories with

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your lovely comments, Maria. I agree. Old things that have served their purpose over the years do carry memories. I love the feel of old clothes that have become softer and more flexible.

      Like

  14. samba2017 says:

    This was a fun poem. Thanks for sharing. I love a good rhyme and the poem on my poetry blog here on WordPress is about rhyming in case you have time to look? Have a rhythmical weekend, Sam 

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

